Egg in a Hole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Simple, easy, and does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Lolita Gilkes
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The instructions said to cook this on low heat. My mistake, I started out on medium heat. So as you can see from my picture my egg in a hole is a little too brown. However, I quickly realized my mistake and turned the heat off, then back on, on low. It was a delicious breakfast/brunch and I got in a protein, a carbohydrate and a fruit . I'm very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolita Gilkes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
my late husband taught our daughter to make these 20 years ago. we call the "ol King Coles"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I use mason jar lids to cut the hole. it's the perfect size
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Popeye egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Madrid, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These are so fun to make. I melt the butter in my skillet and dip both sides of bread in it, then add the egg. Be sure your skillet is hot. I normally do not like runny eggs but can't get enough of them this way. It took me a few tries to get it just right. This is a quick dinner on busy evenings with sausage or bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love this recipe my mother served this to us as children. But adding a drizzle of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Kleinsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I have always loved this recipe since my Grandma taught me how to make it when I was 6 years old. She called it eggs in a frame and so do I. We use margarine or butter on the bread and do not cook in bacon grease. (might be tasty, but why make a cholesterol bomb a nuclear cholesterol bomb?)If you don't like over easy eggs, then just beat the egg with a fork before putting it in the frame. That's how my Grandma made it for me when I was a kid before I liked over easy eggs. I find using large eggs and making them runny results in too little bread to egg ratio, even with the holes toasted so I use medium eggs for this, or toast another slice per two frames.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
One of my favorite breakfast recipes. To save time some mornings, I toast the bread, butter it, fry up the egg and toss it on top. But for the days I want it to be cute and have the time, I go this route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Eggs Benedict

Make any brunch special with eggs Benedict--complete with homemade Hollandaise.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States