Egg in a Cup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
LOVE this! This is food from childhood, we ate it (and still do!) with Ritz crackers, SO yummy! We also use poached eggs, much easier than dealing with peeling a soft-boiled egg. Thanks for the memory, this may be dinner tonight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
i absolutely loved this recipe. i made it for my kids and my daughter is a picky eater and she ate every bite! see she loved it 2:) i wasnt going to try it but i thought what the heck and did. boy am i ever glad i did! thanks for such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is a simple, delicious "comfort food." I used club crackers, and agree that 7 is way too many for one egg; next time, I'll try it with less. Also, like a previous reviewer, I used a poached egg, as it's far easier to just scoop right out of the water and plop onto your prepared crackers without the hassle of peeling the shell. I can see many ways this could be jazzed up...but for me, the flavours combine perfectly "as is." Thanks for a filling, yummy cup of comfort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I do this recipe only with torn up bread pieces in a cup... and it tastes much better then with saltines! Also I add some fresh dill cut up in it too .... talk about mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My family has been making these for YEARS. I generally add a sprinkly of the grated Mexican blend cheese to mine. However, 7 crackers per cup is WAY to much cracker for one egg. Just about anything can be added to this, Fritos are a fun change, and adding a bit of chili can be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Mmm, I remember these from my childhood. I've also made them myself once or twice since I graduated college. I do a couple of things differently, which I'll submit here for others to experiment with if they please: One, I grease the sides of the cup with butter instead of mixing it with the other ingredients. Two, I layer the eggs with bread torn into small pieces instead of crackers. You can also add shredded cheese layers, breakfast meats, sauteed onions, etc. The possibilities are really endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I loved this & then wanted my husband to try it. He didn't want to but then did, & he loved it too! I too used club crackers but will try it w/ saltines sometime. This would be great for breakfast on a camping trip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I cannot believe how yummy this is! It's a comfort food. We used Club crackers that were getting stale and they were great. Seriously, I think I'll have this for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Once a week I treat myself to an egg. My mom would make something similar for my two brothers but with bread. Now that I finally love eggs I decided to try this with Ritz crackers and boy, this really was a treat! Poached eggs are my fav, which worked very well with this recipe. YUMMO and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
wow what a trip down memory lane! my grandmother would make this for me all the time and I had forgotten how much I loved it! truly only for the hard core egg lover.........I prefer ritz crackers too.. If truly love the flavor of egg, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALCUTTA21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Chef John's Summer Scrambled Eggs

Fresh basil, cherry tomatoes, and feta cheese make the perfect summer scramble.

How to Poach Eggs

Watch how to poach eggs in just three easy steps--no fancy equipment required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States