Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Haha my mom has been making these for years, ever since I was little. I'm full grown now but I still love this. It's cute for kids but delicious for all ages =) We call it toad in a hole! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I think many of us were surprised (maybe even disappointed) to see a "recipe" that our families have been enjoying for generations appear as a featured recipe here. Whatever. Who knows what goes on in the minds of the AllRecipes moderators. We've always called these One-Eyed Sailors. I'm only giving four stars because we like our tried and true method better. But hey, if this can help just one person, I guess it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I have made this recipe for over 20 years--but we know it as a Spy-Eye--my children loved the idea of an eye looking through a key-hole. Even now, friends spending the weekend routinely request Spy-Eyes for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I've been eating this since I was a kid (Egg in a Hole according to my Dad). I'd suggest cracking your egg into a small bowl first before pouring it onto the toast for a few reasons; easier aim, less likely to break the yoke, and if the whites are cloudy you have a chance to discard a less than fresh egg before it's too late. I like the suggestions of adding herbs other than straight salt and pepper. Gonna try that! And I've ALWAYS preferred it with a good whole grain bread, sourdough, or even left-over peasant loaf, etc. for the deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My niece loves this recipe. My mom calls it egg in a nest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
A family favorite~we call them "one-eyed Jacks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made these this weekend at our cabin. A family favorite for years...we call them "eggs on a raft." I only butter the non- egg side, add the egg right away and flip! Perfect for camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I didn't read ALL of the reviews, but did anyone else's mom call these "Egyptian Eyes"? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We call these Eggs in a Basket. Make sure to save the circles you have cut out - for dipping into the yolk. After all the baskets/eggs are done - put on plate, then add 1-2 tsp butter to skillet and 'toast' the circles on both sides. Also remember you can make the eggs overeasy - just flip ithem over and cook for a minute. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My mother made "Bird's Nests" for me when I was a kid...way back in the 1950's. So good to see it is making a comeback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States