Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I used to make these for my girls we called them toad in a hole, now i make them for my grandsons who are 6 & 3 they ask for frogs in pond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My mom called it "eggs in the middle" and we always looked forward to eating it for breakfast. One was never enough, we always had her make more to satisfy us. I'm glad that I'm able to pass this down to my children (funny how one is never enough). Now that they are much older, they too make it for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I have made these for my family and they also loved them. They used to be called cowboy eggs because a lot of the cowboys would make these while on the trail for convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I use french bread, like in the movie, "Moonstruck!" You can cut it to your own preferrred thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We call this "toad in a hole" and sprinke it with curry when it is cooking. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Standard recipe, but totally delicious! I find it hard to get a perfect presentation because my gas stove runs pretty high, but even if I flip it to prevent burning and make sure all the white is cooked--it still tastes just as good even if it looks a bit sad. Try it today! I just made one for myself for a light dinner. I bet you have all the ingredients at home right now (all three of them, haha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My mom used to make us these all the time when I was little. She called them "egg in a nest" and we always fought over the little circles. She would fry them up too. Now I'm hungry for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Haha my mom has been making these for years, ever since I was little. I'm full grown now but I still love this. It's cute for kids but delicious for all ages =) We call it toad in a hole! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I think many of us were surprised (maybe even disappointed) to see a "recipe" that our families have been enjoying for generations appear as a featured recipe here. Whatever. Who knows what goes on in the minds of the AllRecipes moderators. We've always called these One-Eyed Sailors. I'm only giving four stars because we like our tried and true method better. But hey, if this can help just one person, I guess it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I have made this recipe for over 20 years--but we know it as a Spy-Eye--my children loved the idea of an eye looking through a key-hole. Even now, friends spending the weekend routinely request Spy-Eyes for breakfast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States