Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe, I also added Brussels sprouts to it and made it a sandwich it was good :) You got to be careful on how fast the toast cooks or it wont turn out how its supposed to... Sincerly, Misty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
i grew up with these because my mom grew up with them - we called them "miami eggs" because my grammy saw the recipe in an old movie called "moon over miami" lol when i was little i used to want to watch the movie while eating them… if it came on TV we would watch it. i preferred mine with "broken" yolks…so over the years i really make them all that way unless someone tells me they want theirs with the normal yolk… LOVE this - it's actually one of my "go-to" comfort foods! once in a blue moon i will put a tiny bit of shredded cheddar on them - which is tasty, but i think that i prefer them plain… (and i am a cheese-a-holic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Cimino Holchin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We have been doing this for years, but toast the bread in the pan on one side first and a little on the second, but we call this egg in the nest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was really fun to make, though it took a couple of tries to get it right. For starters, medium heat seems to be good enough. Putting the egg in right after you flip it, sprinkling a pinch of salt, and immediately lowering the heat to low and covering it for about 3 minutes or so really works well to get the egg nice and cooked without burning the underside of the toast. I recommend using a clear lid so that you can keep watch on the egg. Since the recipe is a bit plain, I squeezed half a slice of orange into the butter and finely chopped a small leaf of fresh basil too. It adds a bit of zing to the butter to make it a little less plain. A friend suggested drizzling some hollandaise sauce or a balsamic vinegar and red wine reduction over it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MollyMers
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yum! I just added a couple of grilled tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I grew up calling these Popeye eggs, so that is what my kids call them too. These are awesome with crumbled Bacon (or any kind of cooked meat) and a bit of cheese (I prefer sharp cheddar) as the egg is cooking. Such an easy and perfect breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonlady1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I sprinkled some chopped up cooked sausage and cheese, DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Used wheat bread and seasoned the eggs with rosemary, basil, salt and pepper like one user suggested. I added the egg immediately after turning to the second side. My hubby liked them! I want to experiment with other spices or adding cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia N. Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
My family loves Cracker Barrel's Eggs in a Basket so I tried these, and everyone was very pleased with the results. I used the outer cylinder of my Pampered Chef Measure-All Cup to cut the holes in the bread and it was the perfect size. I did have to turn the heat down to prevent burning the bread and overcooking the eggs--so it was more like medium-low, maybe slightly higher than I normally use to fry eggs. You just have to know your range top--but I think that whether you have gas or electric (coil or flat top), medium-high is going to be too high. Also, the next time I will try sourdough bread like they use at Cracker Barrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylovesu2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I love it. When I was growing up my mom and grandmother called them birdsnests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States