Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This recipe is pretty versatile. If you want to make it sweet, you can add some maple syrup with some cinnamon spice to make a mock french toast. Making a filling of cooked strawberries and bananas helps to make it more nutritious, and you can use it to sandwich two pieces of bread. Or you can switch the butter for olive oil add some savory seasonings and tada! You have a meal more suitable for dinner. Whole wheat bread works well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
i remember this - omg its awesome i used bacon grease for the egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: New River, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My 5 year old is eating this as I type...she loves it....and requests it again. Only change is to use whole wheat bread. I dont buy white bread. Delicious, easy and cute for the kids. I found that a small 8oz mason jelly jar makes the best holes in the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
We grew up eating these! Always one of our favorite treats! Except we called them "Eggs in a Hole." A few tips... 1. To cut the hole in the bread, use a small cup (with an opening smaller than the bread); place it top down on the bread and press down until you can remove the center piece. 2. After you add the egg into the frying pan, sprinkle salt & pepper to taste, while still unset. 3. Put a little butter on that little circle of bread left behind and fry it up beside your Egg in a Boat. 4. Do not keep the fire up too high - Medium at the most. Place a lid on the pan so that the heat is kept in and circulates - this helps to cook the top of the egg at the same as the bottom, so you don't have to try the tricky task of flipping. 5. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We call this "rabbit in the hole". And we use the leftover hole for dipping in the runny yolk. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Almost tasted good, but totally burns. I call it "Egg at Night."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was delicious! I'm not a very good cook, and my only trouble was getting the white part of the egg that spilled over on to the top of the bread to cook. I flipped them and it worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very good and very easy! This was my first time making these and I had to flip them about halfway through cooking because the whites that spilled onto the top of the bread wasn't cooking. I was worried that it may ruin my yolks, but it didn't at all! they came out absolutely perfect. As another reviewer suggested, be careful about burning your toast while cooking the egg....another reason to flip these about half way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've been wanting to try this for a long time. For various reason, one being that I'm wheat intolerant, I always put it on the back burner (no pun intended.) We have four backyard chickens, so I'm always looking for ways to use the numerous amounts of eggs we amass. I made this for hubby this morning and topped it off with heated chili from last night. Because our range died last week, I made this on our Cuisinart Griddler. I felt like the bread didn't get quite as toasted as I would like, hence the four stars. I will make this again, but work on making the bread more toasted (like grilled cheese sandwiches). I have to add that hubby was very happy with the meal, so I'd give it 4 1/2 if I could. I think it would be fun next time around to play with some seasonings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I saw this cooked in the movie Moonstruck back in the eighties. I tried it for the first time yesterday and loved it. I used a nice, dense piece of white bread. I cut out a hole with a small jelly glass, melted some butter in a pan, laid the bread down to brown, cracked an egg into the middle, added a pinch of salt and pepper, then flipped it to brown on the other side. Delicious! I don't like runny yolks so I cooked mine till just done. I spread a little grape jelly on the bread and cut a piece of toast and a piece of the egg for the perfect bite. An easier way of eating egg and toast, if that doesn't sound too odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States