Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We called these eggs in hats when I was little...we fried both sides of the cut out bread circles too and put on top of the eggs ,hence the hats...also in the movie Moonstruck ,Cher's mother made these for their breakfast (with a piece of bacon on tip) the scene when her fiance calls from Palermo...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We've enjoyed these for 65 years. I remember as a little girl my dad making them. We know them as one eyed Joe's (I still make them). We've always flipped them over while cooking. Don't forget to toast the circles and place them on top of the egg. I always use olive oil instead of butter. They taste just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My Mom made these for us back in the 60s. Glad to see a few of you called them what we did: "Egg in a Frame".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corsicana, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I grew up calling these egg toast and still a family favorite passed on to my grandson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We called this egg in a hat. Same principle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr Bob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We grew up on things and Mom always called them "Toads in a hole". Haven't a clue why! But we thought they were fun and asked for them often. Great memories of childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I have made these for years. We called them egg in the hole. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe, I also added Brussels sprouts to it and made it a sandwich it was good :) You got to be careful on how fast the toast cooks or it wont turn out how its supposed to... Sincerly, Misty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
i grew up with these because my mom grew up with them - we called them "miami eggs" because my grammy saw the recipe in an old movie called "moon over miami" lol when i was little i used to want to watch the movie while eating them… if it came on TV we would watch it. i preferred mine with "broken" yolks…so over the years i really make them all that way unless someone tells me they want theirs with the normal yolk… LOVE this - it's actually one of my "go-to" comfort foods! once in a blue moon i will put a tiny bit of shredded cheddar on them - which is tasty, but i think that i prefer them plain… (and i am a cheese-a-holic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
We have been doing this for years, but toast the bread in the pan on one side first and a little on the second, but we call this egg in the nest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States