Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Pan-grilled bread is so much better than toasted ... Adding an egg makes for a fun an easy breakfast! I buttered the bread as instructed, but also coated my non-stick skillet with a touch of coconut oil for the added health bennies. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sandra
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Loved it! I added bacon to it, sprinkled it with cheese, served it with petite cherry tomatoes, and green Tabasco! Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I was looking for something simple to make for my kids' tea party and came across this recipe. I had never heard of this before, but my kids love eggs, so I went for it. We all enjoyed it very much. I did not precook my bread, but broke the egg right into the hole immediately, seasoned it with a bit of salt and pepper, then flipped the whole thing halfway through. Didn't have any issues with under/over cooked eggs nor burnt toast. Will be making this a lot more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This is a good and easy recipe I make for my wife and daughters. However I change it and I spirnkle Brown Sugar or Cinnamon to each side of the buttered bread. It adds an extra sweetness to it and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Been making tses for 42 years. My mother-in-law before me. So I guess the family has eaten these for 100 years. We call them egg houses. My mother-in -law called them Gas house eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe, my only addition to it is I take the centers that get punched out, butter them a little bit and dip them in cinnamon sugar and fry them. Makes an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
When I was a kid we would call these "Toad in the hole" and we would turn them over and top with a piece of processed cheese. When the cheese is melted they are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I use to make this from a recipe book that I had as a child, so much fun. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle Milks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I flip mine as I don't like runny whites and it works out just fine! Yum! I've always known these as girlscout eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We call this Toad in a Hole. I add the egg right after I put the bread in the pan. I turn the heat off when I flip it over. I toast the "hole" along with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States