Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TRACY K
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
These are just fun. My suggestions: add the egg just after you flip the bread to toast the second side - also lower the heat and increase the cooking time so your egg cooks more thoroughly and your toast doesn't burn. You can use fun cookie cutter shapes ... hearts for Valentine's Day, stars for the Fourth of July ... and don't discard the cutouts. Instead toast them in the pan and top with your favorite preserves. Photo available on my profile page.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
When I saw this recipe I thought omg this is like the eggy in the basket from V for Vendetta and the recipe looked so simple I had to try it. I just finished eating this and man this was a good breakfast. I used whole wheat bread and I cut out a heart instead of a circle.Next time I makes this I need a bigger boat since the hole I cut was a little to small for my egg. I recomend turning down the heat right before you put you egg in so you don't burn your toast while the egg cooks. Next time I try this I am going to scramble my eggs in a bowl first since I don't like runny yolks as much as scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is one of my standard breakfast dishes! My husband asks for it on all the special occasions he gets breakfast in bed and I make it for his entire family when we go up to the cabin for deer season. Of course, I call it a Bulls-eye Egg, so it's more aptly titled. :) I love this recipe - I put the egg in while the first side is browning because we only like the yolk to be a little runny and can't stand runny whites. Then I add pepper, salt, basil and the smallest pinch of rosemary to the egg before I flip it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
we called them "name toast," because my goofy mom had letter shaped cookie cutters, and you could get the toasts in your initials (or your whole name if you were really hungry)! we make tons of shapes, since cooking in my family is time to hang out together and be silly. snakes, dragons, fire hydrants- it's all fun. my boyfriend grew up calling them stained glass windows (huh?). you can make the scrambled eggs pretty easily by whipping the egg in a bowl with milk, salt, pepper, spices (dill) or whatever you like, then pouring it in. alternately, we had them as "french name toast" where you mix a bowl of eggs with vanilla, milk or cream, cinnamon, etc, dip the frame pieces and the cut outs in the mixture, and griddle-fry them like french toast, with the center full of either the sweet french toast egg, plain fried egg, or scrambled with savory spice egg. my brother used to eat them with mayo on top- not as bad as you would think, but really, i can't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The pan has to be hot or the egg will creep out from under the bread -- it will still taste fine, but the presentation just won't be the same. I used to love this one as a kid. We called it a One Eyed Egyptian, but I still don't know why. It's a good, easy to make classic, a great item for a young cook's recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Bunkley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I love these. I call em eggs in a basket. Eat them all the time. Sometimes I put cheese on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We called them Gas House Eggs when I was growing up. I still make them. Only thing different, is that I do TURN IT OVER - carefully - after I let the egg cook on the underside, in the hole, a bit. Also, if you don't want to flip it, you can put a lid on the pan while the egg is cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Made these for years. We and the English call them Toad in a Hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Airek
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
As others have said this is a great, fun, simple recipe. Goes great with a traditional breakfast with bacon or sausage on the side. Good for a little change of pace at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Crowley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I've been eating this since I was a kid (Egg in a Hole according to my Dad). I'd suggest cracking your egg into a small bowl first before pouring it onto the toast for a few reasons; easier aim, less likely to break the yoke, and if the whites are cloudy you have a chance to discard a less than fresh egg before it's too late. I like the suggestions of adding herbs other than straight salt and pepper. Gonna try that! And I've ALWAYS preferred it with a good whole grain bread, sourdough, or even left-over peasant loaf, etc. for the deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garfield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States