Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We have been eating these for years. We have always called them Hole n One. My grandchildren ask for them when they spend the night. Another thing we do is to dip the bread in an egg/milk mixture like making french toast and then put the egg in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Its so interesting to see how many people make this and the different names used. When I was growing up it was either called "hats on it" or my favorite "holy egg toast." Thank you for the memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1hotmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I remember this from childhood, had forgotten , they are GREAT, glad for the reminder and will try real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My grandmother made these for me and my siblings when we were kids! Brings back memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is what my mom callled a birds nest. Only difference the egg goes in the cut out before the bread is flipped and then the whole things gets flipped together. My favorite way to eat eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is so good! My grandmother made them for me when I was little. (She called it "egg in a hole") We would also butter the piece that we cut out of the middle, fry it, and eat it as side toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My mom made this for me when I was a kid (I'm a senior citizen now) and I made it for my son when he was growing up. We called it a "cowboy eggs." Delicious, fun and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We have made these for years but we have always called them One-eyed Jacks (don't know where that name came from)! Ocassionally my boys beg for a two-eyed Jack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We've eaten them for years...called them Chinamon Eyes.....and we've always topped them with honey.....good eating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Sorry to let you know, my grandpa clamed he came up with this in the 20's. We been making our eggs and toast that way for years. But they are great who ever invented this cooking egg still. Oh chop alittle ham or bacon in then crack your egg,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States