Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Very good and very easy! This was my first time making these and I had to flip them about halfway through cooking because the whites that spilled onto the top of the bread wasn't cooking. I was worried that it may ruin my yolks, but it didn't at all! they came out absolutely perfect. As another reviewer suggested, be careful about burning your toast while cooking the egg....another reason to flip these about half way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've been wanting to try this for a long time. For various reason, one being that I'm wheat intolerant, I always put it on the back burner (no pun intended.) We have four backyard chickens, so I'm always looking for ways to use the numerous amounts of eggs we amass. I made this for hubby this morning and topped it off with heated chili from last night. Because our range died last week, I made this on our Cuisinart Griddler. I felt like the bread didn't get quite as toasted as I would like, hence the four stars. I will make this again, but work on making the bread more toasted (like grilled cheese sandwiches). I have to add that hubby was very happy with the meal, so I'd give it 4 1/2 if I could. I think it would be fun next time around to play with some seasonings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I saw this cooked in the movie Moonstruck back in the eighties. I tried it for the first time yesterday and loved it. I used a nice, dense piece of white bread. I cut out a hole with a small jelly glass, melted some butter in a pan, laid the bread down to brown, cracked an egg into the middle, added a pinch of salt and pepper, then flipped it to brown on the other side. Delicious! I don't like runny yolks so I cooked mine till just done. I spread a little grape jelly on the bread and cut a piece of toast and a piece of the egg for the perfect bite. An easier way of eating egg and toast, if that doesn't sound too odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is now one of my favorite breakfasts! So quick and easy. Even my 7 year old liked it (the other wouldn't even try it though) I drop the bread in the pan then the egg right away so I don't get runny whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
We call it "Bird in the nest" and any kind of sliced bread works. Loved this as a kid. My husband never had this and loves it when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Easy and yummy. I used whole wheat bread and used a glass cup to cut out a large circle since I don't own cookie cutters. After flipping the bread and putting in the egg, I turned down the heat and put on a lid to cook the top side of the egg, but it wasn't cooking fast enough, so I flipped it over. I also added a pinch of salt, moved it to a plate then added freshly ground black pepper and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I have had this before, but I had never made it myself. This is really easy for someone who doesn't cook much. I added a piece of cheese to the top and another piece of buttered bread to make it like a grilled cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josiebonds
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by espy2
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I made my egg scrambled..quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espy2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Easy to make and very good. To keep egg from being too runny, would suggest adding egg before flipping for first time. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
At first I thought...egg & toast? Nothing unusual about that. But there is something so much better about grilling breading in a frying pan vs. toasting it in a toaster! Be sure to use a good slice of bread from a hearty bakery loaf. And put the egg in as soon as you flip the bread to the other side. Then lower the heat as far as possible and COVER the pan immediately. It will take 7-10 minutes to cook the egg whites through but still leave a nice soft yolk. This was delicious and very fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States