Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
When I was a child it was called Bird In A Nest. I'm now 76
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was a favorite of all us grandkids growing up! You all should know that the proper name is a "One-Eyed Donnelly" or just "One-Eye" for short! ;) You can put the hole from the toast over the "eye" as an eyepatch! It's a great and easy way to create memories for the kiddos!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
We made these in skillets over the campfire in Girl Scout camp and called it Toad in the Hole. They do taste extra good over a campfire - try it sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I've eaten a version of this my entire life. I call them simply, egg in the bread. I don't butter both sides, just drop some butter in the pan. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Did this for years when our sons were still at home and now do it when the grandchildren visit! We call it "toasts trouées". We cook the cut out circle and place it on top of the egg. We call it its hat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Great breakfast idea especially when it's the morning before grocery shopping! I made this for my brother and I with four tries, two of.which the egg yolk popped. It's still good either way though. My brother is just picky so I ate the ones that cooked and didn't have a runny yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Loved these. They were cooked perfect! Butter both sides of bread. Heat pan on medium low. Cook bread on one side for one minute. Put tab of butter in hole and then add eggs. Lower heat. Cook with lid on to speed up eggs. Breakup egg whites and poke egg yolk with fork to speed up eggs. Flip toast and eggs together to cook both sides. Don't forget to cook the cut out bread circles, too. Will do sour dough bread next time. Maybe add cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are a household favourite! My wife calls it Cowboy Toast. We press down on an upside down juice glass to cut a nice round hole in the center of the bread. Once cooked we drizzle maple syrup over it. A great start to any day! ":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We call it a toad in the hole and I have no idea why
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Neat idea, kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States