Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
We made these in skillets over the campfire in Girl Scout camp and called it Toad in the Hole. They do taste extra good over a campfire - try it sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I've eaten a version of this my entire life. I call them simply, egg in the bread. I don't butter both sides, just drop some butter in the pan. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Did this for years when our sons were still at home and now do it when the grandchildren visit! We call it "toasts trouées". We cook the cut out circle and place it on top of the egg. We call it its hat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Great breakfast idea especially when it's the morning before grocery shopping! I made this for my brother and I with four tries, two of.which the egg yolk popped. It's still good either way though. My brother is just picky so I ate the ones that cooked and didn't have a runny yolk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Loved these. They were cooked perfect! Butter both sides of bread. Heat pan on medium low. Cook bread on one side for one minute. Put tab of butter in hole and then add eggs. Lower heat. Cook with lid on to speed up eggs. Breakup egg whites and poke egg yolk with fork to speed up eggs. Flip toast and eggs together to cook both sides. Don't forget to cook the cut out bread circles, too. Will do sour dough bread next time. Maybe add cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These are a household favourite! My wife calls it Cowboy Toast. We press down on an upside down juice glass to cut a nice round hole in the center of the bread. Once cooked we drizzle maple syrup over it. A great start to any day! ":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
We call it a toad in the hole and I have no idea why
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Neat idea, kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I make this recipe without buttering and browning the bread. Just use a glass to cut out hole, put butter in heated pan and put bread in for a few minutes, then add the egg, then flip. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
one morning - in the 60's - my mom said she was making us something new for breakfast. she had it at a friends house the day before - they called it "port holes". you see the lady that fed these to my mom lived on a boat in San Francisco. We have been eating them ever since. I've passed them down to my kids and their kids and their kids. The one thing I do that I have not read in the reviews is after I put the egg in the hole (right after I put the bread in the pan and after I put a small pat of butter in the hole), I use a bread knife to move the white of the egg around so it cooks quicker, then I turn over to cook the other side. I never have runny whites that way. And the type of bread I have used varies by what I have on hand - sourdough, rye, raisin, wheat and of course white. One of the favorites of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Pinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States