Egg in a Boat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
5 stars for nostalgia! Been eating these occasionally for 50 years. We call them Popeye eggs, that is what my mom called them. in our version, both sides are buttered well and the egg is cracked into the hole, lifting up the bread to let it go underneath the bread. Both sides get cooked to medium; the cut out piece is cooked too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
The best thing about this recipe is all the different names people call it. I've heard it referred to as Toad in a Hole. The picture is off-putting as the egg looks undercooked and the "toast" looks like a dry piece of bread. I tried it and ended up flipping it as I knew there was no way the egg would be done to my liking. Soft yoke but firm white. This works and I enjoy the taste of the the grilled style toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
One of the first things I learned to make as a child and now I am into my 60's. Much better if you toast the bread in the toaster then butter the bread before you put it in the pan and put he egg into the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I've made this in the microwave. Toast a slice of bread, butter one side, and cut out the center with a biscuit cutter. Place on glass plate, drop an egg in the center, pierce the center of the egg with the tines of a fork and cook on Roast for approx. 45 sec. or until cooked to your liking. Replace the piece of bread which was cut out and top with cream (white) gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
We have been eating these for years. We have always called them Hole n One. My grandchildren ask for them when they spend the night. Another thing we do is to dip the bread in an egg/milk mixture like making french toast and then put the egg in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Its so interesting to see how many people make this and the different names used. When I was growing up it was either called "hats on it" or my favorite "holy egg toast." Thank you for the memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1hotmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I remember this from childhood, had forgotten , they are GREAT, glad for the reminder and will try real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My grandmother made these for me and my siblings when we were kids! Brings back memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is what my mom callled a birds nest. Only difference the egg goes in the cut out before the bread is flipped and then the whole things gets flipped together. My favorite way to eat eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is so good! My grandmother made them for me when I was little. (She called it "egg in a hole") We would also butter the piece that we cut out of the middle, fry it, and eat it as side toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Lobster Scrambled Eggs

Watch Chef John make scrumptious scrambled eggs with leftover lobster meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States