Egg-Free Low-Fat Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I love this recipe and have used a variety of dried fruits in addition to raisins. A favorite of mine is adding dried apples. I also substituted 1/2 whole wheat flour for 1/2 of the allpurpose flour. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I really enjoy this easy-to-make recipe, and have made it several times in the past. They are strange and texture--not like that of a high-fat oatmeal cookie, but still delicious. They are moist and cake-like, and not chewy like most low-fat cookies tend to be. I highly recommend not leaving out the walnuts or raisins, they make all the difference in texture and sweetness. I like to use dried cranberries in place of the raisins. I'll be making these over and over again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
These tasted good, but turned out as balls of flour and applesauce! They didn't rise or anything, and came out of the oven in the same shape they went in, without spreading or anything. I guess the recipe is just too healthy to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I have to agree that these cookies are very spongy and dry. Because my husband is a diabetic, I substituted the sugars for splenda and sugar twin brown sugar substitute, omitted the nuts and used twelve grain cereal instead of the oatmeal for extra fibre. I doubt that adding more applesauce would make these moist. I also found them to be too sweet, but then I have a more savory pallet. My suggestion to anyone who found these inedible the way they are is to dry them out and crumble them into your nonfat yogurt. At least you won't be wasting good, healthy ingredients and you'll turn that plain yogurt into a healthy nonfat, high fibre snack. To the lady whose non stick cookie sheet burned, I suggest either your oven was set too high or your thermostat is defective. Try using parchment paper in your pans instead of greasing them. Nothing sticks to it and nothing will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Great recipe. Due to my diabetes, I substituted the white sugar for Splenda, used all natural applesauce, and used dried cranberries instead of raisins. My office loved them and asked me to share the recipe. I did have to flatten the cookies before baking, as they do not spread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Elizario, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I follow directions to a 't' and yet these cookies not only stuck to my non-stick baking sheet, but also burnt before the time was up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Bland. Chewy, but not moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I really liked the cookies. One has to used to "diet" type cookies before liking though. I put in a cup of applesauce, and a ton of cinnamon. I also used chopped dried apricots and splenda instead of the white sugar. Good recipe for us allergic to eggs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
AWesome cookies! I love them! My sister who unfortunatley is anorexic even ate one! I would also suggest chopping up 1/2 or 1 whole apple, chopped. Again, great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Great alternative when you need an eggless dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States