Egg-Free Low-Fat Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made some changes: 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/6 cup white sugar, ½ cup applesauce, 3½ TBS butter (made really soft, almost melted, in the microwave), 1 cup flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, maybe 1/4 tsp cinnamon (allergies in the house), one good shake of ground ginger, 1 cup oats, ½ cup Craisins, and about 1/4 cup Smarties (Canadian candies: like M&Ms, but MUCH better!). My daughter and I like to eat cookie dough (we SAMPLE it! It has to be good dough to make good cookies!), so it's nice that I don't have to worry about eggs. Oh, I also used parchment paper instead of greasing the sheets. It took them about 12 minutes in the oven, and they were a thicker, softer cookie. The ginger was a nice addition. One bit of advice to people complaining about 'cakey' cookies: Substitute some (or most, or all) of the baking powder with baking soda. Most chocolate chip cookies have soda but not powder, and think of what they turn out like. :) Thanks for sharing, Lucille!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I thought this was a great low fat cookie. I halved the all purpose flour and add 1/2 cup whole wheat flour. I also add a little more cinnamon and a dash of ground cloves and nutmeg. I had to flatten my cookies though because they didn't spread as they cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Well, I decided almost 8 months ago to "change my lifestyle" by exercising and eating HEALTHY. Currently, I have lost almost 50 lbs! I made these cookies today and EVEN my unsuspecting 8 yr old son said they were "great". Low fat/lower carb/HEALTHY eating and cooking can be GREAT with recipes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These were a great cookies for a family on a diet(who loves cookies). I had no apple sauce, but I heated up 2 apples (chopped)in the microwave for 2 minutes with a bit of water and mashed them up with the other ingredientas. It worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
I have to say that these are the first cookies I've ever baked that can actually bounce! I thought that not having any butter or margarine in the ingredient list was too good to be true! Sorry...but I thought that these cookies were rather gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I thought these cookies were a great snack for those trying to eat healthier. I didn't have any applesauce on hand so I used one mashed banana instead and added a little water to the mixture as it was quite dry once I mixed all the ingredients together. I also used whole wheat flour and all brown sugar. If I added some chocolate chips they may have turned out a little tastier but they are quite good for a mid-morning snack for those watching their waistline. I have an overactive sweet tooth so these are great to satisfy my cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BananaPancakes
Reviewed: May 6, 2006
These cookies are really good! They are sweet yet not too sweet =]. My only problem with these is that they dont exactly expand when you put the drops on the cookie sheet...so what i did was mush them down into the size i wanted them to be or else they would seem really tiny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
AWESOME!!! Me and my husband love these cookies, I made them according to the recipe (without nuts)and they were great, I made them again with just 2 spoons of organic peanutbutter and they were unbelievable!!! I know it adds a little fat, so try to eat a little less (if you can...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
I really liked these cookies. They're pretty good for low fat. My parents even ate them and they usually hate anything low-fat I make. I ended up using 1 cup of appleasauce. I omitted the nuts but added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
For me, these were pretty bland, but I did make them for my 15 month old who is allergic to eggs & nuts ( omitted the nuts). He liked them. Thanks Lucille, for sharing so that he could have a variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States