Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly as it's printed and it turned out to be FANTASTIC!!! It was very moist and tasted just like cake out of the box, except every one in our family could eat it. I frosted it with chocotale frosting and my two boys topped that with sprinkles. It didn't last long! Thank you so much for this new birthday party staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Tried this for my boyfriends 22nd birthday. He's allergic to everything including dairy, egg, nut, and soy. Did not expect it to turn out half as good as it did. Surprised me when it tasted just as good, if not better then a normal chocolate cake! Was a big hit, and would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
My mother is allergic to eggs so she hasn't had a good cake in a long time. This cake was so moist and the chocolate was so light...I ended up making 2 of these cakes in 4 days! GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanger, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
I am so happy that I found this recipe! It's fantastic! I had to go on a restricted diet because I'm a nursing mom of a dairy-allergic child. I was able to have a birthday cake thanks to this recipe! It's even good without the chocolate chips. I have had it both frosted with a dairy free canned frosting, and also served it for company with dairy-free whipped topping and strawberries. Everyone was impressed. I did bake it a bit longer (40min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Just amazing! Our daughter may have an egg allergy, so while we wait to find out for sure, we have to avoid eggs. I came across this recipe and we made 10 cup cakes out of it! I also used an eggless frosting that I hope to post soon. This cake was very moist and it didn't last long! We made this for our daughter's First Birthday Party and kids and parents just raved. Thank you Bridget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Yes, it's true! This is the BEST BEST BEST cake or brownies I've made! One secret: I used Ghirardelli Double Chocolate Chips (they are lactose-free). This was soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Wow! This cake is truly amazing and easy to prepare. Absolutely delicious. I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and I used Pillsbury Frosting (dairy-free) to ice the cake. I will definitely be making this cake often! Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
Than you for posting this recipe! I'm on a VERY restricted diet, so finding a treat is awesome!! I used 1/2 cup applesauce & 1/4 + 2 tbsp of honey instead of sugar. The cake was quite dense, but really tasty. When I made it the second time, I omitted the cocoa powder and replaced it with the same amount of flour, then replaced the chocolate chips with raisins and added cinnamon. (I used the same honey/applesuace combo, too). It made a nice spicy cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
My neice is allergic to dairy and eggs, and has never had a proper birthday cake or been able to eat anyone elses ( and we have a huge family, so that is a lot of disappointment) till I tried this cake. It is now our standard birthday cake, so my little neice can always have a piece of cake, and the delight on her face is wonderful to see. i have now made it half a dozen times, and everytime, it has come out moist and delicious. Thanks, bridget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Yum, this cake has a really rich chocolate taste. Its very addicting. I left out the chocolate chips this time as I had run out, it turned out great but next time I will try adding them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States