Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was a really good cake and a hit with all the kids at our party!You will never miss the egg, dairy or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I've baked different kinds of vegan cakes for our son. He's allergic to eggs, dairy, and nuts. I have to agree w/ some of the other users on how it falls apart. The key is to let it sit for an hour before trying them. It will stay firm and hold together. As for the chocolate chips, I did w/out considering the sugar intake as well as my son having allergies to the chocolate chips. I baked both kinds just to taste the difference and there wasn't any. I crumbled up some oreo cookies and placed them on top of Pilsbury vanilla frosting which is made w/ soy, (useful info for those w/ dairy allergies) and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Oh my goodness! Such a moist cake yet very chocolatey too! You wouldnt notice dairy and eggs missing from this cake. I didnt even add the chocolate chips! The cake does not rise so whatever depth your mixtures fills the pan - that the depth of the cake your cake will be. I made two to sandwich together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great cupcakes!! They actually rose and didn't crumble apart when eating! Both my kids loved them. I generously scooped the heaping measure of cocoa and added 1 tsp of Pane Riso egg replacer to make sure they didn't come out crumbly which I really don't think I needed. I baked for 20 minutes to make 12 great looking cupcakes that you could easily frost without damaging the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This cake was absolutely fantastic. We made it for my son's first birthday. He has no allergies, but two of the little ones who were attending did, and I was at my wit's end trying to find something good online. I made this into 30 mini cupcakes (325 degrees F at 18 mins was perfect) and nobody could believe they were eggless. I also left out the chocolate chips, but added another tablespoon of sifted cocoa. The secret is very much in the mixing - it's almost impossible to overmix this batter, which is great for mini-cupcakes when the batter gets handled and scooped a lot. For reference, I made another set of cupcakes today using an egg-and-dairy recipe, and they were totally inferior to this recipe here. I'll be using this one from now on... and it's so cheap to make! Very much a WWII-ration-friendly cake, and one that is going to be a permanent staple of our household. We look forward to concocting other flavours! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the GZA strip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This was awful. It came out like a rubbery Frisbee, and was completely inedible. The vinegar was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Thanks so much to Bridget for sharing a delicious cake recipe:) I looked up the recipe because I had a guest with alergies to egg and milk so I thought this would work and it did! Furthermore, cake mixes here in Spain are usually pricey so knowing how to make this cake from scratch helps even more! The truth is it is really easy to make. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
As the resident baker in the family I was really nervous about finding an egg free dairy free soy free cupcake recipe for my cousins sons birthday. This was one of the first ones I found and I was at ease after reading the rave rhey did all the reviews! They did all the things a good cupcake should and taste great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
It's a decent cake. I wouldn't rave about it. The consistency is more like a brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
made this for my niece who's allergic to eggs, dairy and nuts. this is the BEST chocolate cake for her. she can't get enough. bake this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States