Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This cake is amazing - I did make a few changes: I used whole wheat pastry flour (it's the only flour I keep in the house), doubled the amount of cocoa (I also used Dutch processed, don't know if it made a difference), chocolate soy milk instead of water, 3 tablespoons canola oil and 3 tablespoons apple/prune baby food, and I added an egg white (so it's not vegan, but still dairy free). I made this for my sister's birthday - she LOVES chocolate, but is allergic to dairy. She actually had to "take a break" because it was so rich and chocolatey, but she LOVED it! The whole family did - in fact, they said I could sell it at our local coffee shop, it was so good. It really was amazingly rich, chocolatey, and moist with the changes I made. Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe! My daughter has multiple food allergies. She is allergic to cow's milk, nuts & eggs. This cake turned just as good as the regualr cakes I've made or eaten. I can't believe how good it is! It is so moist! I am just glad to finally find something that she can enjoy other the usual stuff that she's allowed to have. I look forward to continuing looking for more recipes of this type. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
GREAT!!!! Have received many compliments. People are very surprised when I tell them it is an allergen free cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These were great! To keep it completely dairy free I used chocolate soy morsels and they were really yummy (and I added 1 cup instead of 1/2). For baking cupcakes, you only need to bake them for about 18 minutes. I also made a different version that was still egg free but not completely dairy free because I used white chocolate chips. Several of the little kids didn't like the chocolate version, so instead of the cocoa and chocolate chips, I added 1.5 tsp of lemon extract (along with the vanilla extract) and white chocolate chips. The kids loved them=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I didn't have any chocolate chips so made it without-- it was still a delicious chocolatey moist cake! I just found out I am allergic to eggs, so I made this for my birthday cake, and it was wonderful-- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of vinegar, eye-balled the salt, cocoa, baking soda and vanilla, used a little extra oil and a little less water, used whole wheat flour, skipped the choco chips...AND IT WORKED VERY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tasty and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Lovely! I was making the cupcakes for a friend's birthday, and one of the guests is allergic to eggs. I made this recipe and a regular chocolate cake recipe and everyone liked these better! They rose nicely, though it took a couple tries. I tried substituting cake flour, but it doesn't have the protein to hold the batter together. AP flour is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
a lil over chocolatety at times but it's good to be egg and dairyfree... vinegar, who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
My daughter has food allergies .. this is the best cake ever.. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caroguard@hotmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States