Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
this was really average. perhaps for someone who is used to vegan baked goods, it would taste good. but compared to more rich classic baked good, this really pales. the chocolate flavor is bland and very mild, and the cake was rather gummy. i tried this bc i had run out of eggs (not bc we were allergic or vegan.) very mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I just recently found this recipe and I am glad I did. My 2yr old daughter also suffers from severe allergies including but not limited to wheat, egg, dairy, peanut, etc. I made this cake for her 2nd birthday and it was fabulous. No one at her party even knew! I just frosted it with a reg. can of pilsbury confetti frosting and it was perfect!! The only problem I had was that the chocolate chips stuck to the bottom of the pan so I am not really sure what I did wrong. Other than that it was really fantastic. I will eventually try it with a gluten free flour but she tolerated the amount of flour in this pretty good. This is definately a recipe staple in my household. Thank you so much. This enables my tiny tot to have something sweet when she is limited by so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This cake is amazing - I did make a few changes: I used whole wheat pastry flour (it's the only flour I keep in the house), doubled the amount of cocoa (I also used Dutch processed, don't know if it made a difference), chocolate soy milk instead of water, 3 tablespoons canola oil and 3 tablespoons apple/prune baby food, and I added an egg white (so it's not vegan, but still dairy free). I made this for my sister's birthday - she LOVES chocolate, but is allergic to dairy. She actually had to "take a break" because it was so rich and chocolatey, but she LOVED it! The whole family did - in fact, they said I could sell it at our local coffee shop, it was so good. It really was amazingly rich, chocolatey, and moist with the changes I made. Try it - you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I am so glad I found this recipe! My daughter has multiple food allergies. She is allergic to cow's milk, nuts & eggs. This cake turned just as good as the regualr cakes I've made or eaten. I can't believe how good it is! It is so moist! I am just glad to finally find something that she can enjoy other the usual stuff that she's allowed to have. I look forward to continuing looking for more recipes of this type. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
GREAT!!!! Have received many compliments. People are very surprised when I tell them it is an allergen free cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These were great! To keep it completely dairy free I used chocolate soy morsels and they were really yummy (and I added 1 cup instead of 1/2). For baking cupcakes, you only need to bake them for about 18 minutes. I also made a different version that was still egg free but not completely dairy free because I used white chocolate chips. Several of the little kids didn't like the chocolate version, so instead of the cocoa and chocolate chips, I added 1.5 tsp of lemon extract (along with the vanilla extract) and white chocolate chips. The kids loved them=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I didn't have any chocolate chips so made it without-- it was still a delicious chocolatey moist cake! I just found out I am allergic to eggs, so I made this for my birthday cake, and it was wonderful-- thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Used lemon juice instead of vinegar, eye-balled the salt, cocoa, baking soda and vanilla, used a little extra oil and a little less water, used whole wheat flour, skipped the choco chips...AND IT WORKED VERY WELL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very tasty and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Lovely! I was making the cupcakes for a friend's birthday, and one of the guests is allergic to eggs. I made this recipe and a regular chocolate cake recipe and everyone liked these better! They rose nicely, though it took a couple tries. I tried substituting cake flour, but it doesn't have the protein to hold the batter together. AP flour is important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States