Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Like others, I was skeptical, but this cake worked out surprisingly well and got good reviews by my taste tasters. I also made this cake gluten-free and so I substituted all-purpose GF mix using the same quantities. I doubled this recipe to make a decent size cake and baked it in a bundt pan (bake it a bit more than it says in the recipe if you do this), just to make it look nicer really, as I knew I wasn't going to frost it, then dusted it with icing sugar. I also served it with chocolate-covered strawberries - yum! I left out the chocolate chips. The only thing I think would improve this is if it was served with a chocolate glaze of some sort. And like others have commented on already, I mixed the batter well (3 minutes with my KitchenAid stand mixer). I used to be a huge baker before I discovered I was gluten-intolerant and GF goods have always turned me off, but this recipe restores my faith in baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My son is allergic to egg, nuts and dairy, so I tried this recipe to see if it was as good as everyone said. THIS is the BEST cake I have ever tasted! Everyone loved it and they were shocked that it was dairy free! I followed some reviewer's advice and made my own little changes: 2 tbsp of oil and 3 tbsp of apple sauce. I also used rice milk instead of water. The longer you mix the batter, the better the cake! This will now be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This cake was amazing!!! I cannot eat eggs right now due to sensitivity and have tried many many other recipes and this one turned out the best. I accidentally added a teaspoon of baking powder (along with baking soda as well) and it still turned out great. I made cupcakes and only baked for 20 min rather than 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
On my 3rd try (I was determined to make this work!) I made a few changes - and with those changes I would give this a solid 5 star rating. #1 - DO NOT add chocolate chips - they sink to the bottom and make a hard, stuck on mess of a crust, #2 - Use cold, strong coffee instead water, this makes up for the lack of chocolate chips and adds depth to the chocolate without tasting any hint of coffee flavor, and #3 - grease, dust with cocoa powder AND line with parchment paper, both the bottoms & sides and then grease/dust, those as well. You end up with a deliciously fudgy, dense chocolate cake that will not stick to the freaking pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this cake dozens of times over the last 9 years, as well as passed it on to friends, and not one time has it been imperfect. And I have got to be the worst baker EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Just made this(cupcakes)(made 12 regular size pan cupcakes.*fill them a little more than half way) today for a litte girl in my child's class that is allergic to eggs...They were awesome!! I didn't use the chocolate chips bc I didn't have any but oh my goodness! These are better than regular cake mix you buy at the store and sooo easy!! Thanks a bunch! oh and ps...don't use the ENER-G egg replacer with a duncan hines cake mix...ewwwww.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Best egg free cake I ever made! Couldn't be easier. I pretty much doubled the amount of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Made these today in cupcake form for my daughter's birthday, she's allergic to egg's and dairy. They turned out fabulous! Baked up in perfect dome shape, I was amazed. Only change was to omit choc chips and dissolve (1)T instant coffee granules in (2)T hot water, then add enough cold water to make the (1)C called for in recipe to deepen the chocolate flavor. Sorry I did'nt take a picture, because they really were picture perfect. Baked @ 350 for 18 min's, got 11 standard size cupcakes (filled batter 3/4 full). Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
My 6 year old daughter is allergic to milk, eggs, soy, and peanut. She LOVES chocolate, so it is always a challenge to find something she can eat. I made this cake for a bday party that I knew would have a regular chocolate cake so she would have something...it was terrific, easy to make, and everyone who tried it said they didn't know it was an allergy free cake! Three of the kids actually ended up eating more of this cake than of the typical cake! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States