Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Wanted to test out this recipe after reading many of the positive reviews. I made some of the changes people had suggested - I used 1 C soya milk and added the vinegar so it kind of curdled like buttermilk.) I also used about half a cup of cocoa powder. Baked in a 20cm round cake tin. The cake I have to say was awesome!! Very impressed as were my kids. I sprinkled about half a cup of chocolate bits on top and thought these really added a nice texture to the cake to come across the morsels of chocolate. The cake rose beautifully, was dense and chocolatey and as we didn't eat it all in one sitting I put the rest in a cake tin and forgot about it. A few days later it still tasted moist and just as good. Will absolutely, definitely keep this recipe to make for any allergy friends I bake for. I bake alot of cakes and this one is a winner for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Everyone has basically said all the good things about this recipe. Very delicious, moist etc. Only swaps I made were brown sugar instead of white (that's all I had, use a little under 1 cup unpacked) and half milk/half water (no dairy allergy just egg). My only advice is do not over fill your cupcake tin/liners if you're making cupcakes. I got a little over-zealous and oh boy, did this puff up and over flow. Delicious still! But messy and not very pretty haha. I was at about 3/4 full. Woops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made these yesterday since we have a girl coming to my daughters bday who is allergic to eggs. I actually had zero hope that they would work out but they were sooo good!! I followed the recipe exactly and they were great. I made cupcakes out of them and they rose perfectly. Yummy! Thanks again for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was great! After reading some of the other reviews, I tried this with gluten-free flour and made cupcakes out of it. I also bought parchment muffin cups and greased them; they separated quite easily from the cupcakes and didn't stick at all. Also, I used Splenda instead of sugar though I did throw in the semi-sweet chocolate chips too (which have sugar) and added green sugar sprinkles on top, as this was the St. Patrick's Day dessert for our family get-together (we have dairy-free, gluten-free and reduced-sugar dietary needs between us all). Everyone LOVED this! A note to anyone who has never tried this with all the "free's" in it - they come out a little chewy but that's to be expected with so many substitutions for these dietary restrictions. The family are all used to that aspect of it and found these to be so delicious, they ate 3 cupcakes each (and the kids had to be told "that's enough for you, no more" after that)! Thanks for a great recipe that I will be sure to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Like others, I was skeptical, but this cake worked out surprisingly well and got good reviews by my taste tasters. I also made this cake gluten-free and so I substituted all-purpose GF mix using the same quantities. I doubled this recipe to make a decent size cake and baked it in a bundt pan (bake it a bit more than it says in the recipe if you do this), just to make it look nicer really, as I knew I wasn't going to frost it, then dusted it with icing sugar. I also served it with chocolate-covered strawberries - yum! I left out the chocolate chips. The only thing I think would improve this is if it was served with a chocolate glaze of some sort. And like others have commented on already, I mixed the batter well (3 minutes with my KitchenAid stand mixer). I used to be a huge baker before I discovered I was gluten-intolerant and GF goods have always turned me off, but this recipe restores my faith in baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My son is allergic to egg, nuts and dairy, so I tried this recipe to see if it was as good as everyone said. THIS is the BEST cake I have ever tasted! Everyone loved it and they were shocked that it was dairy free! I followed some reviewer's advice and made my own little changes: 2 tbsp of oil and 3 tbsp of apple sauce. I also used rice milk instead of water. The longer you mix the batter, the better the cake! This will now be a staple in our household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This cake was amazing!!! I cannot eat eggs right now due to sensitivity and have tried many many other recipes and this one turned out the best. I accidentally added a teaspoon of baking powder (along with baking soda as well) and it still turned out great. I made cupcakes and only baked for 20 min rather than 30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
On my 3rd try (I was determined to make this work!) I made a few changes - and with those changes I would give this a solid 5 star rating. #1 - DO NOT add chocolate chips - they sink to the bottom and make a hard, stuck on mess of a crust, #2 - Use cold, strong coffee instead water, this makes up for the lack of chocolate chips and adds depth to the chocolate without tasting any hint of coffee flavor, and #3 - grease, dust with cocoa powder AND line with parchment paper, both the bottoms & sides and then grease/dust, those as well. You end up with a deliciously fudgy, dense chocolate cake that will not stick to the freaking pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I have made this cake dozens of times over the last 9 years, as well as passed it on to friends, and not one time has it been imperfect. And I have got to be the worst baker EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States