Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Another adaptation of this great cake is to use 100grams Diary Free White Chocolate (I use the Sweet William brand) instead of the cocoa and the texture is more like a white chocolate mud cake but still quite light, moist and fluffy when eaten. Fantastic cake!!! A huge thank you to the person that posted this recipe. My dairy intolerant baby boy can finally have a cake for his b'day that wont upset his stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I looked up recipes for eggless cakes for my toddler's birthday party since he's allergic to eggs and nuts. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but hoped for the best. It was a hit! I highly recommend this recipe. I'm glad my son can enjoy cake from time to time and have realized that eggs are not necessary to have a delicious dessert. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I have been making this cake for years! The only difference is that my recipe does not use chocolate chips. The version that I know is called Crazy Cake and I learned how to make it in Home-Ec way back in the mid-seventies!!! It is my 78 year old mother's favorite chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Delicious recipe! I made them into cupcakes for my son's school since one of his classmates is allergic to eggs. Unfortunately I didn't realize until after I baked them that Tollhouse Chocolate Chips are processed in a plant that also processes peanuts (and its a nut-free school), so I need to make a second batch without those. I guess there's more for us to eat at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I love it! My son, who is allergic to eggs, has not had a decent cookie/cake/cupcake in his life. Other (chocolate) cakes always had a strange aftertaste or were gummy. This is the best egg-free bakery item he (and I) have ever tasted. I made the recipe into 12 cupcakes, instead of a cake. Baked them at 350ºF for 23 minutes and they came out perfect. I used chopped up semi-sweet bakers chocolate instead of the chips. It gives the recipe a rich, decadent taste. This is one to remember. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
EXCELLENT! I am a nursing mom who's son has a milk, egg and soy intolerance, which means some major diet changes for me. I love my sweets, so this has been tough, esp. over the holidays. This was a GREAT find and really helped meet my chocolate craving. Moist and delicious. Even my 3 year old and husband love it! THANK YOU for sharing and making my day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Fantastic! I took note of other reviewers' comments and substituted the water for chocolate soy milk and used 3 tbl applesauce/2 tbl oil instead of 5 tbl oil. It turned out moist, fluffy and delicious without a hint of bland or aftertaste. It's definitely a keeper for those with dairy, egg and nut allergies. I made this for my DS's 1st grade class that has a lot of kids with allergies. Just be sure to buy cocoa powder that takes care to avoid crossover of allergens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkrbabe1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
my first attempt at this cake was horrible. The second time was amazing! It is a great tasting cake. I don't think I mixed enough the first time. My daughter is allergic to milk so this was a great find, for her birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this cake today and it is a flat gewy piece of something.. but not cake. When Is tarted mixing it it was so clumpy that I used a handmixer to get it smooth. I am not sure if that messed it up? I am sad, after all these rave reviews I was excited to finally make a cake for my allergic son that he can enjoy. If anyone knows why it turned out this way, let me know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a very good recipe. My son is allergic to egg soy and nuts. And he doesn't like chocolate so I made some changes to the recipe. I use 2 1/4 cup yellow cake mix. 1cup whole milk. 1tsp baking powder. Its turns out pretty good. I made many different shapes and size. thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States