Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Hm. Not the best. I'll grant that they were squidgy, but in a stodgy way. The edges were just about ok, but the rest of it tasted a bit like chocolate wallpaper paste. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These baked up into surprisingly moist cake-like brownies. I upped the cocoa powder to a whole cup but they still weren't fudgy enough; next time I'll add some brewed espresso and maybe chocolate chips or something to make the chocolate flavor more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These are very good. They can be moist and good, you have to take them out while still a little glossy, and no the toothpick should not come out perfectly clean. If you wait till the whole top hardens and the toothpick comes out clean, they will be crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
While I have to admit I was a bit skeptical while I was making these, they turned out TERRIFIC! I only tried them because I was in a pinch and had no time to go get eggs. I also substituted organic whole wheat flour (its all I use) and it worked quite well. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cooking_lovers
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious!! I tried it because i don't have any eggs, and craved for delicious cake in my late Sunday.. tried this one and.. turns out really nice!!lovely!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I used the ingredients EXACTLY as written, and it is quite simply the best egg free brownie recipe I've tried. (among dozens) They were moist, easy to cut and didn't fall apart. In fact, I used them to make ice cream sandwiches using one a mold with a press. I had tried the sandwiches with the regular chocolate chip cookie bar recipe (which has no egg), but they were too hard to bite right out of the freezer. The brownie was PERFECT. I spread the dough out in a bigger pan so they would be thinner, and used a little less cooking time. The brownies held toghether nicely as I cut them into shapes, and pressed together with ice cream in the middle. They froze nice, and weren't too hard to bite. Next time, I think I'll add a few mini-chocolate chips and dust with powdered sugar like the picture. Anyway you look at it, this recipe jumps to the front as my number one brownie recipe. In fact, it is so hard to find a good egg-free cake, I might double layer with icing and call it cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Thank you sooo much, Bridget Brooke, for this recipe! I have searched for an egg-free brownie recipe since I met my fincé who is allergic to both eggs and nuts. I started out trying this one extremely sceptical thinking no way this can taste like brownies... When I noticed the dough looked and tasted just like regular brownie dough, I about started to cry of happiness! My financé has never in his life tasted brownies and this completely knocked his socks off!! WE LOVE IT! It tastes just like regular brownies! I come from Norway so i just switched everything into the metric system and followed the recipe and added raisins in stead of nuts.I will make this over, and over and over again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was pleasantly surprised by these brownies. I had read some of the reviews and they seemed kind of "on the fence" about them. I found them to be really good. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. I splurged and put a homemade peanut butter frosting on top (recipe also found on site). Just delicious and hard to resist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewerton, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These were fabulous! I made a few changes as listed above, but I also added about two -to-three tablespoons of applesauce to keep it moist. finally, brownies my hubby and I can both eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
These were the worst brownies I have ever tasted! After the first batch I tried making it following some of the other suggestions, but they were just plain bad. They had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States