Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
So I was looking for egg free brownies, and was intrigued by recently reading about pumpkin addition to brownies to make it more moist -- So using this recipie, I substituted the water for (thick)boiled pumkin mush and cut the sugar to 1cup. I melted about 200g of cooking chocolate into the butter insted of cocoa powder. I used wholemeal flour instead of white flour. It still came out extreemly fluffy! Next Time I'd probably reduce the sugar to none, and add more pumpkin and see how it went. But this was fantastic. :D I'd have put nuts in also if I had any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I wanted to make something sweet,but I ran out of eggs. These were so good! I added a little extra cocoa and I cut up some sugar free hershey's chocolate bars,just because I love chocolate so much! I'm deffinately going to make these again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shonna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Don't know what I did wrong, but these turned out awful. I followed the recipe to the letter. It doesn't specify how thick the flour mixture should be or how long either mix needs to cool. Perhaps they could have contributed in the, um, result. The batter tasted really good so I was excited when I put the pan in the oven. After about 15 minutes my kitchen started to smell like brownies. The timer went off at 20 mins and they, more like it, was a bubbly, molten liquid with a tiny amount of "crust" on the top. I waited another five and it thickened slightly to a consistency closer to pudding. After baking it for almost another 20 minutes, the last 10 on 450, I noticed the oven smoking and pulled it out. As it cools now on top of my oven the butter is separating from the chocolate pudding-ish blob, in puddles on the top of the "brownies". I am not the most experienced baker, but I know my way around the kitchen. I have to assume it was user error from all the other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe! I used 1/3 cup dark cocoa and 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips rather than 2/3 cups of cocoa. It was moist, chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great egg-free brownies...toppped with homemade chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Amazing Recipe!, make sure you follow directions exactly, it may look like you are using too much flour etc.. but TRUST THE RECIPE!, I doubled it and used it to make some special brownies and they were freaking awesome, just the right amount of chewy and cakey A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Best egg-free brownie I've tried. My son is allergic to eggs, so we've tried several. This brownie tastes best the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
My 6 year old daughter has an egg allergy and desperately wanted me to make brownies she could eat for her half birthday celebration at school. While experimenting I made a brownie mix with egg-replacer. They were awful. I made the vegan brownies in allrecipies. They tasted great but were too crumbly for her to take to school. I then made this recipe as written. Compared to the vegan brownies, they were rather tasteless but they had a good texture. So, i decided to try again but partially follow the advice of another reviewer. I replaced the cocoa powder with 4 squares of unsweetened chocolate and sprinkled in a few mini semi-sweet chocoate chips. I also sprinkled a few of the mini semi-sweet chocolate chips on top before baking. They turned out wonderful and you would never know they don't contain eggs. My daughter's classmates loved them and so did my family. Now, I can make brownies that the whole family can eat. (I don't put nuts in because both of my children have nut allergies as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
i made these last night and they were not as good as i hoped they'd be. i didnt have eggs on hand so i wanted to try a recipe that called for no eggs and i will not be making this again. i will most def go to tge store to get eggs the next time i wanna make beowines. my husband liked them though but me and my sister in-law did not! they tasted to much like flour and to sweet! did not like not fudge enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was an ok recipe. The batter was very runny at first, but then it seemed to cook very well. I found it was much easier to stir by hand. I would recommend this to people who are allergic to eggs, but people who aren't you might want to use a recipe that has eggs, that recipe might be a bit more enjoyable. Oh, don't get me wrong the recipe was not bad just not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States