Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Fantastic!!!! My egg / nut allergic daughter loves them and the rest of the family can't tell the difference!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
If you try, make sure you let everything cool to room temp before combining. Batter tastes great - and you can taste it since there are no eggs. I made nice thick flour/water base, but didn't let it cool long. I didn't cool the chocolate mixture for very long. The result smelled great - looked a bit odd - tasted okay. There was a thin light crust on top of a gooey almost lava cake like layer. Not really brownies in texture, but definitely in taste. I ended up reheating them in the microwave in individual bowls then topped with vanilla bean ice cream. Awesome dessert, but not quite the brownies I was hoping for - I couldn't see packing them in a school lunch for instance since they are so gooey. If I try them again I'll let everythign really cool first adn see if they hold up better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I found this same recipe on a vegan site and made due to my having no eggs on hand. I was very skeptical but went ahead. They baked up nicely in the oven, the raw dough was delicious. I even added semisweet chips and some espresso powder. I liked the fudgy texture but thought the flavor could have been richer. Easy recipe and many have said the flavors deepen by the next day, will have to see. And will certainly try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Wonderful! Worth the extra steps. Make sure you measure the flour accurately or they end up too dense. Like another reviewer said they are even better the next day, if they last. No need for chocolate chips either, they are gooey and fudgey enough without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These brownies were awesome!...never had egg free brownies b4...they were cake like which was nice...they were also moist and did not disappoint.......thanks for this recipe........I used " I can't believe its not butter" instead of butter....still yummmmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
not what i was looking for. maybe w/ a few alterations it would have been better. not chocolately enough and way too cakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I am glad I waited a day to review this. I had no eggs and wanted to cook (ice storm has us stuck in house). After I made them I thought they were dry and was a bit disappointed. BUT day 2 they were really good. It is a different texture not so much fudgie but cakey. Day 2 they still looked cakey but tasted fudgie and moist. Key is not to overbake as is the case in all brownie recipes. The recommended 20 minutes is right on. You can kick it up a knotch by putting some frosting on it. Great option for the folks with egg allergies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My star rating isn't meant as an insult. I honestly didn't use the recipe straight up. I used a combo of this and my own because there were so many 1-star ratings for this one. I've been refining my dairy-free brownie skills for the past 8 months and ran out of eggs tonight. My husband and 3-yr-old approved, and they do NOT settle for wanna-be brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. I could taste and feel the texture of the jellylike flour concoction, the batter needs MORE SUGAR! It was really dry and not a good taste or texture and not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great brownies even without the egg! My daughter is allergic to egg so finding a brownie recipe that she can eat was a gem to find! Very chocolate-y without the weird taste of most egg free foods. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States