Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
We're having egg allergy guests arrive tomorrow so thought I'd give it a go. Mine didn't work out and were very fudgey but I'll give it another crack tomorrow and let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very good and very easy. I added chocolate chips and topped with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I used Jean R. suggestions and they turned out awesome! I had to cook them a little longer (5 or 7 minutes) and I also added some left over chocolate frosting on top after they cooled (I know...sinful) but it really made them great. I also added about 1/4 to 1/2 cup extra chopped nuts because we really love a lot of nuts. I didn't substitute the cocoa with the 4 chocolate squares as she suggested because I didn't have it. But I did follow all of her other suggestions. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
WOW! I had no idea it was even possible to make egg-free brownies, let alone ones that were so good!! I halved the recipe, but kept the same chocolate amount as the original called for. I also threw in the walnuts, as well as a bit of chili powder. Needless to say, these brownies were all gone in less than 24 hours. (Much of that was my own doing, I must admit!) Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I will definitely use in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Scaled the recipe down and made a fourth of the original, minus the nuts. I was really surprised at how they turned out. I made mine in mini loaf pans, about 2.5"x5". They were very thick yummy brownies, but for me, I feel they're missing a little something. Maybe a tiny bit more salt or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are wonderful for being eggless! They are definitely more "cakey" than "fudgy", but with a few measurement adjustments to the flour and baking powder would change that. I added a few "fun sized" Hersey bars from my daughter's Halloween candy and then a whole bar of Neufatchel (sp?) cheese to make them more like "cream cheese brownies" and they turned out GREAT! They are cakey but still qualify as more of a brownie and they didn't crumble but held together nicely. I only made these because I got an itch to bake at 9 pm and didn't have any eggs in the house! I will make these again when I feel like brownies even if I do have eggs! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Amazing, I made these for the end of Semester 1 at Uni to say Merry Christmas, with a vegan in the class, so a vegan friendly recipe was essential, I just replaced the butter with vegan friendly spread and chocolate, and these brownies went down a treat with everyone from the tutors to the vegans. I would reccommend these brownies to anyone who for any reason cannot eat dairy or eggs. :) Well done to whoever devised it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I made these brownies last night, and I have to say that I was impressed. We are currently practicing lent, and I had a serious sweet tooth last night. I will say that I added about 1/2 cup of hershey's chocolate syrup to the mixture, just to give a bit more chocolate flavor. I ended up having to bake it almost 15 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. I'm not sure if that had something to do with the syrup. Anyway, they turned out a bit denser than a cake would, but not as dense as normal brownies. My husband loves them because they aren't "too" sweet, and he ate the half the pan last night! Next time, I will add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
OH MY!!! Was very nervous about making a brownie without eggs, but I really cannot stand the smell and taste of baked goods as much anymore since these two senses have become more sensitive as I have gotten older, and I stumbled upon this recipe and decided why not?! SOOOO glad I did, they are terrific, not sure what they are like made true to the recipe, I took the advice of a few reviewers and decreased the baking powder to 1 tsp and added an extra TBS of cocoa powder and some whole milk to the recipe to soften up the batter just before pouring to my pan. Added 1/2 C. of chocolate chips, too and voila! Soft and chocolately brownie goodness!!! Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This was a pleasant surprise! Looks like a lot of steps but it's well worth the effort. We used the advice for less baking powder (only 1.5 tsps) and a little more flour up to a cup. Nice to know we can have a brownie if we're out of eggs from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States