Egg-free Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
My kids have milk/egg allergies so I was looking for a good brownie recipe. This is NOT it. The texture and taste are terrible. It's definitely more crumbly-cakey than chewy and fudgy. It has an acidic aftertaste as well, and it requires several steps--Not worth it! Perhaps some serious tweaking would fix some of the issues, but as it stands, it's a waste of flour and sugar. We did really enjoy Vegan Brownies by SandyWifey31S. Try that instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Not bad. They need powered sugar on top. I was surprised they turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Perfect! I was looking for a good egg-free brownie recipe for my nephew who has egg alergies. These worked perfectly! I followed the advice of other reviewers and added chocolate chips. I also avoided adding nuts. It took a little longer than the recipe said to cook, but it turned out perfectly! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe was very good but I felt that some changes could be made to improve the taste and texture. I substituted 4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted with the margarine, for the cocoa, and cut the flour down to 1 1/2 cups. I added the 1 cup chocolate chips and to produce a more fudgy product, I also cut the baking powder down to 1 tsp. The result is amazing and hard to believe that they are egg free. I have tried for years to develop a suitable brownie recipe for my son who is allergic to eggs. This recipe, with the changes I suggest, is far superior to any I have tried previously. They definitely pass the brownie test!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
For those of us who are unable to use eggs in our baking, this is a winner! I have tried many times to make a brownie using different egg replacers and have never suceeded. Usually, it ends up a googey mess or just like a cake. This is great. I made 2 batches, the first exactly to recipe - came out a little cakey, but great taste. The second lot, I followed other reviewers suggestions and add enough milk to be able to "pour" the batter into the pan and also added about 1/2 cup of choc chips. This was fantastic!!!! (Not exactly like brownie made with eggs but very very close). Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Very good, different texture but not that different. A good substitute, the kids loved them! This will be made for many more years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were great-but I substituted evaporated cannned milk for the water as well as added 1 tsp of rum flavoring to make it interesting.A very Good eggless brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSWEN2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I had no eggs in the house and my daughter wanted to make something with me...that's how I ran across this recipe. It turned out great...loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This recipe is the absolute BEST. My grandson has egg and peanut allergies and this is the best recipe I have tried. They raise beautifully and are so moist and rich! We are going to use them for his "birthday cake"!! Thank you!!!! I have tried Many and always disappointed until now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
My daughter has milk, egg, and peanut allergies. I have been looking for a decent brownie recipe for about a year and have tried many that weren't "up to par". I did this one - eliminated the nuts and used a safe margarine. I also added safe chocolate chips for her. She (3 yrs old) loved them. My husband loved them - said you probably couldn't tell the difference between these and regular brownies! And most of all - I LOVED THEM! They are chocolatey, moist, fudgy and not too cake like. YUM!!! Thank you for posting this one! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States