Egg-Free Bonbon Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These are delightful little cookies. I ran out of eggs and was looking to a recipe with my limited ingredients. I didn't use the cherries, and the cookies turned out as something similar to shortbread. To add a little home touch I shaped them into little hearts. I made them in less than 30 minutes and despite my worries they turned out just fine. I don't do much cooking by myself so I was satisfied at how they came out. Two siblings agree. So, if you are looking to an easy, egg-free cookie, look no further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these to bring to my daughter's Kindergarten on her birthday because one of her classmates has an egg allergy. These were surprisingly good! The only downside was that they ended up being just a little dry & some kind of crumbled apart. I'm sure it was just operator error. :-) If you need an egg-free cookie, this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The dough was hard to work with... and it expanded quite a bit in the oven. Still, the overall result tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
These are the most incredibly crumbly pieces of cherry heaven. I added about 2 teaspoons of cherry juice to the batter, which gave a nice color and extra flavor. I also added 2 teaspoons of baking soda which helped them keep their shape. We ended up with beautiful mounds that just puffed up from the original shape of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
wow. i can't even believe it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by That's a Pervert

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
With a few changes, this was great! They look so pretty too. I chopped up cherries and added them to the batter. My family likes nuts so I added walnuts as well. Before putting them in the oven, I mixed sugar and walnuts together and dipped the up side of the balls to the mixture. They look very festive! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I made half as directed by the recipe, using one cherry per cookie, and for the other half I chopped up the cherries and added them to the dough along with a little cherry juice and flour (they were pink, and very cute!) Both ways work equally well. However, I don't think a 10-oz jar of maraschino cherries is enough, especially if you use one cherry per cookie as the recipe directs. I used a 16-oz jar easily. I will definitely make these cookies again, perhaps experimenting with almond extract instead of vanilla, just for fun! This recipe would be a real beauty on a party platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I added more flour, more vanilla, cocoa and cherry juice, white sugar, and salt. I also chopped up the cherries and mixed it into the dough. With my additions, the recipe is phenomenal!! I shudder to think how awful it would taste without my adjustments tho. Good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burgermiester

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Don't let the lack of ingredients fool you! These tasted like the best little butter cookies ever! TIP: if your dough is too sticky, try sticking your fingers in some powedered sugar first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ericka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tash
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Very easy to make. Very yummy. They spread out more then I thought they would and ended up being flat with a lump where the cherry was. They remind me of Christmas. I probably will make them again. I think they would taste good with the cherries chopped up and blended in the dough...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tash

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States