Egg Foo Yung with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Not a fan of egg foo yung i guess, or maybe its just this recipe. not really sure cause i never had it before till now. I ended up squirting ketchup all over it and eating it like i would my eggs. It is very easy to shape them into pancakes. All you have to do it laddle about 1/3cup of the mixture slowly into the pan and with your spatula bring the edges towards the middle of the mixture, shaping it into a circle. Does that make sense? I know- im horrible at explaining. But i would think its common sense. Anyways, wont be making this version again but may attempt a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This had a good flavor but the eggs/batter ran all across the pan and made one giant pancake. Seems like it should have been thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I didn't make the sauce but the egg foo yung was really good. I was trying to re-creat my dad's but couldn't. (Never thought to call and ask) but this is just as good. I will be using this again and probably make it for my dad! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was good! I agree the mushroom sauce was a tad salty and I think I would of liked it thickened with flour instead of corn starch better: to add a little more flavor and probably help with the saltiness. I doubled the pancake part of the recipe, and added bits of pork to half of the recipe. Great way to use up a small amout of leftover meat! This was very quick and easy... unlike the sides I served. So I made the pancakes up and covered with foil and place in a 225 degree oven, while I made a veggie stir-fry and fried rice to go with. I can't always go to my favorite oriental restaurant when I am craving Egg Foo Yung, and this was a good substitute. Thank you, so much, for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is so good! Very simple to make and delicious. I made mine a bit different due to lack of proper ingredients, but I got the idea. I used spinach instead of Bean Sprouts, and made a gravy out of dry mushroom soup mix. I also used sunflower oil instead of peanut. Nevertheless, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I think the dish was good but I did not have peanut oil and used vegetable oil instead. The mushroom sauce was very good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I had a crazy craving for Egg Foo Yung, just like I used to eat as a kid at my favorite Chinese food spot. I made a few changes to this recipe based on what I had on hand...no bean sprouts, but instead I added some diced zucchini and carrots, a little shallot, and some chinese sausage. I cooked it all just a little bit in some peanut oil, drained it on a paper towel, and then added it to the egg mixture as directed. The sauce was PERFECT just as it was. This satisfied my craving...but with this recipe in my stash, I'm sure it will be back sooner than later! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This wasn't bad, it just needs a bit of tweaking. The sauce was a bit too salty so we are going to reduce the soy sauce. Also, we will add another vegetable to the egg mixture. Maybe water chestnuts or peas. Just something to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very good egg foo yung recipe. I added chinese red pork as suggested by another reviewer. Served with pork fried rice for a delicious and easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Good! I had a lot of trouble getting my pancakes to resemble pancakes, but I think it had to do with how clumsy I am more than the recipe. I doubled the recipe, added thinly sliced celery to the pancakes, and added the soy a little at a time to the sauce (also added a splash of sherry). Overall, very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States