Egg Foo Yung with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Never had this before. Boyfriend said his mom used to make it. Looked it up, found this recipe with mushrooms, I love mushrooms, recipe looked pretty easy. Followed recipe, had to use canned bean sprouts and canned mushrooms but it still turned out great. Served it with Ham Fried Rice. Pancakes were not hard to make. And the sauce was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Hungry Hippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Awesome. The only thing I changed was cooking eggs in non-stick pan with a bit of cooking spray to reduce calories. I will definitely make this again & I think I'll try adding shrimp or chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very Good, Easy to make, would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgenco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Easy and excellent! I didn't have peanut oil and used sesame oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Excellent and so simple! One of my favorite Chinese dishes. My mother made this for us when we were kids. Her's was good, but this one's better. Next time, I'll add diced Chinese red pork, chicken or shrimp. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I love this recipe and have made it several times. Great just the way it is!Yummy! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Just made today and loved it. Don't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I fried up some diced boneless spare ribs and added it to the mixture. As a short-cut, use Cream of Mushroom Soup as the "gravy. Serve over basmati rice. Simple and delicious week-night meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I love Egg Foo Young! I like this recipe a lot but I didn't go completely by the book either... I added a couple pinches of salt to my eggs as well as mixed a few drops of sesame oil. And being extra lazy... I just cut up the mushrooms up really tiny and mixed it into the eggs also. So for the sauce... I just left it plain and added a additional ingredient which was a few pinches of sugar to it so it gave it a nice carmelized taste. Then added the diced green onions as well as some toasted sesame seeds on top as garnish. Yum :9 People were saying they weren't sure how to make it into a thick pancake. The trick is to make a large / thin egg layer... fold the edges so it's shaped sorta like a octagon. Now you have a nice round and "thick" little egg pancake. Great for fitting it on top of a nice little mound of rice in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
So good! I'm never going to have to run to Chinese for my guilty pleasure. Even made one super pancake to save on time. It turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States