Egg Foo Yung with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
The omelette part was definitely better than those I've had at several Chinese restaurants. The only thing I did differently was to throw in some diced Chinese sausage. The gravy was a bit on the salty side, but definitely edible. All in all, this was a quick and easy meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
We really enjoyed this dish. The egg pancakes were very good, and the mushroom sauce would have been fantastic had it not been so salty. I think next time I will use 1/2 soy sauce and 1/2 water. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned straw mushrooms (the kind with black caps) and 4 dried shiitake mushrooms (after soaking in water). What wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Excellent and so simple! One of my favorite Chinese dishes. My mother made this for us when we were kids. Her's was good, but this one's better. Next time, I'll add diced Chinese red pork, chicken or shrimp. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This recipe was was very tasty. I used anegg substitute and it worked well. I also used a non stick spray to cut fat and calories. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I'm rating the Egg Foo Yung patties because I did my sauce differently. In addition to the other veggies, I also added spinach and they were incredible. So the sauce would taste like what I'm used to from our local restaurant, I added some of the canola oil I used to cook the omelets to the pan and made a roux. I then added chicken broth, soy sauce, Gravy Master and seasonings. The result was a nice rich gravy that helped make this dish even more amazing than it already is. Thanks a bunch Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
Awesome. The only thing I changed was cooking eggs in non-stick pan with a bit of cooking spray to reduce calories. I will definitely make this again & I think I'll try adding shrimp or chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Easy and excellent! I didn't have peanut oil and used sesame oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This dish was exceptional! I followed the recipe exactly and found it easy to make and the mushroom sauce on top of the 'pancakes' was a perfect accompanyment. Served it up with Chinese Chicken Salad III. Will do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States