Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
THIS IS AWESOME! I will make this again and again. My husband absolutely loves egg foo. Takes just as good as the restaurants. He thought the Foo sauce was a little salty, I thought it was just perfect! Great find... Recipe I'll keep and pass around to all who want a good egg foo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4FuninLV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this for breakfast today. I love all the vegetables; I used some leftover ham that I chopped up instead of the other meats, but would have used them if I had them handy. That was the only change I made to this recipe. The egg part turned out great. I sauted all the vegetables and meat before adding to the eggs, then cooked them as the recipe stated in the same pan. I made the sauce in the microwave. It was too thin and very, very, very salty. I will make this again, but will tweak it. It was a lot of prep time and the oil for cooking the eggs is not listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was SO good! Just like take-out. I left out the mushrooms and used only pork but know it would be great as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Add some chopped water chestnuts for extra crunch and sprinkle some cilantro over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My husband said that this was the best egg fu yung he ever had. I did tweak it tho. I didn't have any celery, so I added a 1/2 tsp celery seed for the flavor. I used wild chanterelles for the mushrooms, so I cooked them with the shrimp before adding. Oh, and I used shrimp in place of the meat. Plus I added a couple cloves of garlic while the shrimp and chanterelles were sauteeing. Finally, I added a healthy squirt of sriracha and a tsp of peanut butter to the sauce. There you have it: best egg fu yung my husband ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The only meat I used was pork and I ground it up in the food processor. I thought the combination of flavors was quite tasty...just as good as my favorite Chinese restaurant. The sauce was ok...not sure what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
First time I tried making egg foo young and it came out great. I made rice and had them over it so next time I will double the sauce. I did not add any meat. I did add about 1/8 teaspoon of ground ginger to the recipe. Also I used my big fry pan and made one at a time but what happened was the 1/2 cup of egg mixture spread out too much making them thin. Next time I will still do the 1/2 cup per serving however I will try using a smaller fry pan in hope that they will come out a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
The only change I made to the recipe was to use all roasted pork instead of three meats. I tried to cook it as directed, like pancakes. It wouldn't set up and hold. The only way I could get it cooked was to scramble it like an omelet. I tried to eat it this way, but I found it to be inedible. My husband ate it because he was hungry, We aren't picky eaters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The kids and I loved it and it was easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was really good. Made it with shrimp and added more veggies! I also made more of a egg foo young fritta but it turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States