Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is very tasty and I would make again. I mostly followed the recipe, but only used pork for the meat. I used the smallest skillet I had, and I had no problem with spreading. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is due to the texture; it's like an American style omelet and not even close to the restaurant style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this with no meat, and with veggie broth.. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
excellent. I add a little cornstarch to the egg mixture to keep it formed better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe tasted just like the Egg Foo Yung I love at my favorite chinese restaurant. I substituted green onions for onion and added 1/2 cups of finely chopped carrots. I made it for a party and everyone loved it! I didn't think it would reheat well the next day but it actually made really delicious leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Excellent! I do not give the 5-star rating very often, but this deserves it! I substituted out all the meat and subbed in an extra cup of sprouted mung beans. Thoroughly enjoyed; thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Awesome recipes. The sauce is a little think so I might add more cornstarch the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Scaled this recipe for 2 but since I tweaked it a bit based on reviewers' notes & my hubby's suggestions, it yielded 4. What I did: INGREDIENTS For the egg mixture: (1) used 4 vs 3 eggs (2) used 2/3 vs 1/3 cup bean sprouts [though hubby said it was too much. next time i'll stick to 1/3 cup] (3) used 3 whole shrooms, sliced vs 3 TBSPs diced (4) used 2/3 cup cooked ham vs required meats (5) added 1/4 cup water chestnuts (6) skipped the salt (7) diluted cornstarch for each batch of egg foo yung For the sauce: (8) doubled all the ingredients (9) added 6 tsps of sugar (the original recipe was too salty) (10) added 1/4 tsp ground ginger (11) added green onions, for garnishing First, I QUICKLY stir-fry the veggies (cooking the shrooms 1st) & cooked ham. I set this aside, separate from the beaten eggs. After 4 tries, this is what worked best for me: To make 1 serving, dissolve 2 tsps cornstarch in 1 tsp cold water, add 1/4 cup beaten egg & 1/2 cup veggie/meat mixture. Place a can w/ NO LIDS on an oiled & heated pan & pour in the egg mixture; fry one side for 3 mins. After 3 mins, run a fork around the insides of the can to separate the egg from the can then slip a wide spatula (as wide as the can's circumference) under the egg mixture & can & QUICKLY flip it (can & mixture) over. I used a 28-oz can, about 6" high & about 4 to 5" in diameter. My hubby couldn't believe we could eat gooood Chinese food at home! Thanks for the recipe & reviews! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My husband said, "Is this from THAT site? This is prob. the best thing you've ever made from there!" 5 stars for sure! I did not have chicken bouillion so I used vegetable. I also didn't have corn starch so I used Wondra. Otherwise I did everything as stated and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! My family loved it and it was easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myjazzystarr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Soooo good and easy, the sauce needs a little tweaking but all in all this is great and versatile, next time I may add shrimp, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States