Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this for breakfast today. I love all the vegetables; I used some leftover ham that I chopped up instead of the other meats, but would have used them if I had them handy. That was the only change I made to this recipe. The egg part turned out great. I sauted all the vegetables and meat before adding to the eggs, then cooked them as the recipe stated in the same pan. I made the sauce in the microwave. It was too thin and very, very, very salty. I will make this again, but will tweak it. It was a lot of prep time and the oil for cooking the eggs is not listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was SO good! Just like take-out. I left out the mushrooms and used only pork but know it would be great as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Add some chopped water chestnuts for extra crunch and sprinkle some cilantro over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My husband said that this was the best egg fu yung he ever had. I did tweak it tho. I didn't have any celery, so I added a 1/2 tsp celery seed for the flavor. I used wild chanterelles for the mushrooms, so I cooked them with the shrimp before adding. Oh, and I used shrimp in place of the meat. Plus I added a couple cloves of garlic while the shrimp and chanterelles were sauteeing. Finally, I added a healthy squirt of sriracha and a tsp of peanut butter to the sauce. There you have it: best egg fu yung my husband ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The only meat I used was pork and I ground it up in the food processor. I thought the combination of flavors was quite tasty...just as good as my favorite Chinese restaurant. The sauce was ok...not sure what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
First time I tried making egg foo young and it came out great. I made rice and had them over it so next time I will double the sauce. I did not add any meat. I did add about 1/8 teaspoon of ground ginger to the recipe. Also I used my big fry pan and made one at a time but what happened was the 1/2 cup of egg mixture spread out too much making them thin. Next time I will still do the 1/2 cup per serving however I will try using a smaller fry pan in hope that they will come out a bit thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
The only change I made to the recipe was to use all roasted pork instead of three meats. I tried to cook it as directed, like pancakes. It wouldn't set up and hold. The only way I could get it cooked was to scramble it like an omelet. I tried to eat it this way, but I found it to be inedible. My husband ate it because he was hungry, We aren't picky eaters...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The kids and I loved it and it was easy to make. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was really good. Made it with shrimp and added more veggies! I also made more of a egg foo young fritta but it turned out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smross5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by JillianMarie
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this dish without the meat and used some extra bean spouts and mushrooms. It was delicous - just as I would expect from an authentic Chinese resturant, and on the current Weight Watchers 360 program it came to a scant 4 points including gravy (assuming 8 servings). I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillianMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States