Egg Foo Yung I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I am sorry to say that this recipe was not good at all. This did not happen to me but if you think about this intuitively – what happens if you add warm vegetables to eggs? Yes, they scramble. With all the items this recipe calls for you to add it was nearly impossible to have patties properly form. Those that did form did not taste anything at all like what you may receive at an Chinese recipe. Some suggestions would be to lower the amount to stuff you are trying to stuff into these patties or increase the number of eggs. Pan-frying only works in a sub-par way. If one has ever seen how this dish is made in a restaurant, they do not use a pan, rather a wok with a good bit of oil. It would not hurt also to mix in a little seasoning of some/any sort. A little ginger root, some garlic and salt and pepper would not hurt at all. The sauce accompaniment was not good. With all the cornstarch it tasted just like that. Cornstarch. We will keep looking for a better recipe. This one will unfortunately not get a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
My husband loves Egg Foo Young and this was a big hit. I did add some sliced celery and minced garlic to the vegetable mix and also added onion powder to the sauce mix. I also added a 3rd tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit more. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This has always been one of my favourite chinese food dishes when ordering in. This recipe was just as good as anything I've tasted by the "pros". One note is that the directions for making the sauce seemed odd to me, because they didn't indicate to heat the sauce. I made it in a saucepan and added a tablespoon of oyster sauce for added thickness and flavour. It turned out great. (Bring it to a boil and then simmer to make it thicken) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This was really tasty. I made a few seasoning changes. To the egg foo yung batter, I add garlic and some red pepper flakes. To the sauce, I added a dash of honey and some more garlic. Very good dinner. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I thouroughly enjoyed this recipe, I omitted the bell pepper and added celery and also some green onions and kept everything the same. I also drained the veggies before I added them to the eggs. The sauce was tasty and lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Thanks Arliss! I took the advice of other reviewers and added celery and garlic and a little minced ginger. I have been searching for this for a long time. Can also use crabmeat or just veggies and low sodium soysauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Um, more like Egg Foo YUM!! Very good, easy to make and a big hit with everyone. My husband loves Egg Foo Yung, and gets it pretty much every time we have Chinese, he says this is the best he's said. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This 'foo yung' recipe is a good place to start, but even slightly creative cooks can make it so much better. Vary the veggies and use more of them. Add cooked meats or chopped raw sea foods if to your taste - whatever is available. The real Secret to a world-class 'foo yun' is the SAUCE. Skip the water and use a robust stock as the base. Flavor it with toasted sesame oil, garlic, a little five-spice and yes especially a pinch or two of MSG. I've given only three stars here because this recipe is only the starting point and basic method. The enhancements are unlimited. If you make a more interesting sauce, the end product can easily become a Five-Star dish in a flash. Be creative and just use up some leftovers! Short of over-cooking the 'foo yung' patties, it is difficult to screw it up and cooks of any skill level should be able to make this with ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Ok, no way! If you make this "for brunch" when you "go camping" you camp in your kitchen! Really, 2 different skillets, and an oven, not to mention separate mixing bowls and beating eggs for 5 minutes, all in the great out doors? Oh, and you bring shrimp along with you too, so a really nice sized refrigerator or tons of coolers. You are quite the outdoorsman. The recipe was okay, but eggs need some flavor, a hint of nutmeg, don't but in bell pepper(which I love, but doesn't belong in this dish) don't saute onions, use green onions diced. If you want to do it camping, mix all the ingredients in zip lock sandwich bags, individually. Then hit 1 skillet and empty sandwich bags, to fry 2 at a time. Use canned brown, or chicken gravy, heated in can placed in boiling water that will be used for instant coffee of to clean skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I had never even eaten egg foo yung before I tried this recipe. My husband wanted some and I looked it up to see how it was made, what was in it and found this recipe. Not only is it easy to make but he said this is better than he has ever had! I really liked it also. The only problem I had was the third instruction does not say to 'heat' the sauce and make a thickened sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States