Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a pretty good base, but I think what the reviewers are generally looking for is the taste of egg drop soup from a chinese restaurant. To get that flavor, you need to add a few drops of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I had tried another egg drop soup recipe that called for soy sauce and vinegar and I liked this one better. I did double the eggs and green onions. It was soooo awesome and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Fast and simple recipe. This soup is tastier than the ones served at Chinese Buffets -- it doesn't have a "yolky" flavor. For improved flavor, you may want to use bouillon broth (instead of canned broth) and add 1 teaspoon soy sauce and 1/4 teaspoon sesame oil. == TIP: to make long, not-so-thin egg laces, make sure the beaten egg is not frothy prior to pouring it in a slow, but steady stream in the boiling broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I use pretty much the same recipe only what i do is i will add the white part of the scallions while the soup is cooking and then save the greens to garnish once done, also add a teaspoon of soy sauce to bring the flavor out really well, little pepper goes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Fantastic!!! I absolutely loved it!!!! I changed the recipe a bit though.... I added 2 eggs insted of 1... half a cube of chicken bouillon... 1 shake of Mrs. Dash tablesalt... 1 cup of water... an extra tablespoon of cornstarch... and a few shakes of black pepper... this recipe is very very easy to make!! and tastes fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Overall this was a good base soup to start with, needed some extra flavoring. We added ginger and green onions to the soup. Also needed to at least a full 3tbs of cornstarch to make it as thick as my local resturant. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'll give the recipe the benefit of the doubt, because the other reviewers said it was good. But, as I learned, DO NOT use egg substitute (i.e. better than eggs). I cannot begin to explain what the broth did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
this soup is extremely good and very quick to make. I followed reviews and added 2 eggs rather then one. It turned out excellant. Thanks PATSY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was a quick and easy lunch for me, but I don't think it tasted anything like our local chinese restaurant soup. I also used two eggs and some of my own seasonings to jazz it up a bit. I'll make this again for myself, but I wouldn't serve this as part of our family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Great Recipe! I had to use a little more cornstarch to get it to thicken like I wanted, but we loved the soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States