Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Maybe I expected too much of this recipe but I was not impressed at all. Instead of an Asian-style soup, the result was exactly like the chicken broth my mom made me when I was sick... Very disappointed. It does make a great broth for when you're sick, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I've made this soup without cornstarch and it was good, just like what I've had in restauarnts. I didn't like as much thickened. I also didn't have any chives or green onion on hand so I added some McCormick's No Salt Added Garlic and Herb Seasoning. I added two eggs instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is a good base but I am glad I read the reviews first because I added in some sesame oil and some pepper for taste. This made it really tasty. I also used two eggs instead of one. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
good start- I did add a couple of drops of sesame oil to it. Would even be good with a bit of cabbage or carrots in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great! My kids loved it! I did however add a few drops of sesame oil and cooked the green onions with the broth. I had to add extra cornstarch. Although it wasn't yellowish like in the resturants, it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becky69boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very simple and yummy. Make sure you use a good brand name chicken both though, I used no name and it wasn't as good as I'm sure a better quality would've been. Also, I added a touch of sesame oil and some ground ginger to the broth...so good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I'd tried this recipe before and I wasn't crazy about it. After reading the reviews I tried it again and added the sesame oil and it was fabulous! Glad I gave it another chance, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a great recipe! I followed some of the other review suggestions...adding a couple drop of sesame oil and a little drop of soy sauce...it taste just like our favorite local Chinese place makes...and when I lived in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Delicious! I added the scallions and the sesame oil( while the broth cooked). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. It's all about what you're use to. My husband loved the two eggs; I thought it was a bit much. He didn't add soy sauce; I added quite a bit (could eat it alone, I must say). This is easy - don't stress out about the ingredients. It will taste great; if not, add some soy sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Trantham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good recipe! I made the revisions noted in the first few reviews (added a tsp of soy sauce, a few drops of sesame oil, and a dash of ginger). I also used one can of broth and a can of water instead of 2 cans of broth. It was much less salty that way. Lastly, I diced some mushrooms and put them in there - they heated through after about 5 minutes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States