Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Wow! This soup was quick and easy, and best of all, it tasted great. It is very creamy with the corn starch and ratio of 1 egg per cup of broth. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! The only thing I would change is the ground white pepper was way to much, try a 1/4 tsp of it. The 1/2 tsp made it a little too overpowering. But again, it does say optional. I loved the large amount of egg compared to the other egg drop soup recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
On a hot summer day, the last thing I expected to make tonight was soup. However, the craving fought long and hard and I finally gave in. I found myself searching AR for something quick, and with ingredients I had on hand. Presto, this was perfect. I did have to make a few adjustments, though. I didn't have broth on hand, so I threw 2 chicken bouillon cubes into a cup of hot water. I omitted the food coloring, and the salt. The bouillon cubes + soy sauce= enough sodium already! Also, instead of chives, I chopped up some green onion. Now if only I had some potstickers and fried rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great recipe! The sesame oil that the recipe called for seemed like a lot to me so I just put a few drops in. I also don't use chicken broth (I never can get through it all in time), instead I used chicken bullion powder. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I was really happy with what I wound up with. I was looking for something warm and cozy and as close to our local Chinese Restaurant as possible. This was a good pick. I made one adjustment, adding more cornstarch because I like a thicker consistency but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Next time I am going to add some sweetcorn, like the local restaurant does just to see what I end up with. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This was so easy to make. I had never had egg drop soup and it was good. I didnt use the cornstarch or food coloring and I used green onion instead of chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
In my mind this was just perfect, a delicious prelude to the Korean Saewoo Bokkeumbap (Shrimp Fried Rice) that followed it. (recipe also from this site) I don't know what it is, specifically, that makes this soup so good given its simplicity, but I can only guess it's the addition of the sesame oil, which I love. I prepared the recipe just as is, only mixing the cornstarch with part of the chicken broth rather than water and adding no salt or pepper. I made two servings, one serving each for Hubs and me, and regret I didn't make more. The consolation is that this is so quick and easy to prepare I could whip up more in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
The best tasting home-made egg drop soup I have had. Spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
If you use low sodium, no fat broth - you can use the soy sauce without making it really salty! My favorite way to make a meal out of it is to add some shrimp sauteed in garlic and cabbage to the soup - filling and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Loved it! This was so simple & quick to make. It had better texture than than the soup from your average chinese place. I used low sodium soy sauce/chcken broth & seasoned it with salt at the end as needed. After reading other reviews, I decided to only add 1/8 tsp sesame oil. Dried chives worked well in this soup too. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States