Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Great basic egg drop recipe. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made the soup just as written though I used toasted seaseme seed oil & it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R&R
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Simple and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was fantastastic! And ready in 5 minutes! I used a green onion rather than chives (what I had). Also used 1 cup water plus 1 tsp chicken bullion powder in place of the broth. It was so much better than expected! Thanks for a great recipe! I will be having this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Awesomely good! My family has me make this soup when we order out Chinese food. Be sure to add the yellow food coloring, it makes a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Very tasty - thank you for posting this. I, like everyone else, had to add my own twist. I didn't want to make just one cup, so I quadrupled it. Also, my favorite Chinese restaurant has great egg drop soup. One day while eating it, I bit into a tiny bit of minced fresh ginger. So - for a quadrupled recipe, I added a minced piece of ginger root (about 2 teaspoons. You'll need to taste it.). It went from very tasty to magical. However - as most folks know, too much ginger is like too much salt or too many licks from a dog. It's good, good, good, then all the sudden, way too much. So - add a spoonful if you think you'll like it, simmer it for 5 minutes, taste it, then do it again. Just a suggestion. I also added a handful of ling ling brand pot stickers for the final simmering stage for something solid to bite into with my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Better than restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I have tried to make egg drop soup twice before, but the third time (this recipe) is the charm! Thanks for sharing! I did not use chives because my son won't try anything with green in it. I also skipped the food coloring. I did use everything else per instructions and topped it off with chow mien noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This egg drop soup is absolutely great! I quadrupled the amounts for four servings. I really love the flavor of the sesame oil. It adds to the quality of the soup. Thanks so much for the recipe, Darren. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Very easy to make and yummy! I skipped the cornstarch and the soup was still tasty. (I'm trying to cut down on carbs where I can) Thank you for sharing. I will make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States