Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Had this for dinner tonight and it was awesome! The whole family liked it. Only used 1/2 the amount of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I just made this and agree it is very tasty. I left out the oil to save calories. Caution to not add salt until you taste, especially if you used chicken bouillon with normal salt. (Use Better Than Bouillon!!) I also took it off the heat to swirl so the bubbles wouldn't break it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I really liked this. Never made egg drop before. I listened to others and cut back the sesame oil and cornstarch and pepper by half. Threw in some peas. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Easy and tastes good, thanks for the recipe! I modified slightly using liquid aminos instead of soy and arrowroot instead of cornstarch. I also added peas and carrots for added nutritional value. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Perfection and ease! That is my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very good and easy to make... I used the powder version to make my own broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josey Pukrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Decent flavor for so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this for breakfast (hungry & on AR) and it was wonderful! I like a bit more spice so I added a dash of garlic powder, some chopped celery (going bad & didn't want to throw away) & regular onion (no chives). Super yummy, I only added a dash of the white pepper & added a pinch of salt to my scrambled eggs. This is now my "go-to" Egg Drop soup, thank you Darren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
One of my most favorite soups and this is spot on!! I don't add the white pepper but it is still fabulous! It's even better than what some Chinese restaurants try to pass off as egg drop soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaconLUV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
In my mind this was just perfect, a delicious prelude to the Korean Saewoo Bokkeumbap (Shrimp Fried Rice) that followed it. (recipe also from this site) I don't know what it is, specifically, that makes this soup go good given its simplicity, but I can only guess it's the addition of the sesame oil, which I love. I prepared the recipe just as is, only mixing the cornstarch with part of the chicken broth rather than water and adding no salt or pepper. I made two servings, one serving each for Hubs and me, and regret I didn't make more. The consolation is that this is so quick and easy to prepare I could whip up more in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States