Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I just made this and agree it is very tasty. I left out the oil to save calories. Caution to not add salt until you taste, especially if you used chicken bouillon with normal salt. (Use Better Than Bouillon!!) I also took it off the heat to swirl so the bubbles wouldn't break it up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I really liked this. Never made egg drop before. I listened to others and cut back the sesame oil and cornstarch and pepper by half. Threw in some peas. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Easy and tastes good, thanks for the recipe! I modified slightly using liquid aminos instead of soy and arrowroot instead of cornstarch. I also added peas and carrots for added nutritional value. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Perfection and ease! That is my kind of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Very good and easy to make... I used the powder version to make my own broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josey Pukrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Decent flavor for so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I made this for breakfast (hungry & on AR) and it was wonderful! I like a bit more spice so I added a dash of garlic powder, some chopped celery (going bad & didn't want to throw away) & regular onion (no chives). Super yummy, I only added a dash of the white pepper & added a pinch of salt to my scrambled eggs. This is now my "go-to" Egg Drop soup, thank you Darren!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HONEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
One of my most favorite soups and this is spot on!! I don't add the white pepper but it is still fabulous! It's even better than what some Chinese restaurants try to pass off as egg drop soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaconLUV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
In my mind this was just perfect, a delicious prelude to the Korean Saewoo Bokkeumbap (Shrimp Fried Rice) that followed it. (recipe also from this site) I don't know what it is, specifically, that makes this soup go good given its simplicity, but I can only guess it's the addition of the sesame oil, which I love. I prepared the recipe just as is, only mixing the cornstarch with part of the chicken broth rather than water and adding no salt or pepper. I made two servings, one serving each for Hubs and me, and regret I didn't make more. The consolation is that this is so quick and easy to prepare I could whip up more in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Great basic egg drop recipe. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States