Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I loved this! I made a serving of 6, and I made a few alterations. I did not have broth, so I used 1 bouillon per cup of water. I also added a bit more sesame oil to taste. I also used 7 eggs instead of 6. I loved the extra egg! This will definitely be a favorite in my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was definitely too salty in its original format, and I even used low sodium soysauce, and only 3/4 of a teaspoon at that. I had to add 3/4 of a cup of water to it to sort it out. Adding chopped green onions is also an absolute requirement if you want to have the authentic Chinese taste. With my additions I would give it 4 stars, as it was better than most egg drop soup recipes, but definitely needs some tweaking. (FYI, sometimes I add a dash of cayenne pepper for an extra kick, but it's not necessary.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! VERY easy to make and JUST like you get at the restaurant! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Loved it. I needed something soothing and easy to make in my flu-ridden state. I schlumped into the kitchen and performed step one in a microwave, with a pyrex measuring cup. I then broke the egg right into my boiled mixture and stirred. So easy. For diabetics and Atkins devotees, this recipe is perfect without the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was just a *bit* bland, but still very good and soothing, just like egg drop soup should be! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The only changes I made was I used green onions instead of chives and omitted the yellow food coloring. This was awesome egg drop soup. The key ingredient, in my opinion is the sesame oil. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Breland de Vries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was quite good, my first attempt making it at home. Make sure to SLOWLY mix the egg in: I got a little overzealous so my presentation wasn't the greatest. For our tastes we added the cornstarch and salt, not pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Phenomenal. My husband said this was the best egg drop soup he has ever had. I used all of the optional ingredients except food coloring and I used regular ground pepper instead of white pepper. It was fabulous, not too thick. It was like a soup should be. It was very filling and had a great taste. If you are making it for more than one person, make sure to double the recipe. I quadrupled it so we could have it at another meal in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very quick and tasty. The kids loved this soup. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States