Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was definitely too salty in its original format, and I even used low sodium soysauce, and only 3/4 of a teaspoon at that. I had to add 3/4 of a cup of water to it to sort it out. Adding chopped green onions is also an absolute requirement if you want to have the authentic Chinese taste. With my additions I would give it 4 stars, as it was better than most egg drop soup recipes, but definitely needs some tweaking. (FYI, sometimes I add a dash of cayenne pepper for an extra kick, but it's not necessary.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! VERY easy to make and JUST like you get at the restaurant! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Loved it. I needed something soothing and easy to make in my flu-ridden state. I schlumped into the kitchen and performed step one in a microwave, with a pyrex measuring cup. I then broke the egg right into my boiled mixture and stirred. So easy. For diabetics and Atkins devotees, this recipe is perfect without the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was just a *bit* bland, but still very good and soothing, just like egg drop soup should be! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The only changes I made was I used green onions instead of chives and omitted the yellow food coloring. This was awesome egg drop soup. The key ingredient, in my opinion is the sesame oil. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny from wiggins, ms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was quite good, my first attempt making it at home. Make sure to SLOWLY mix the egg in: I got a little overzealous so my presentation wasn't the greatest. For our tastes we added the cornstarch and salt, not pepper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Phenomenal. My husband said this was the best egg drop soup he has ever had. I used all of the optional ingredients except food coloring and I used regular ground pepper instead of white pepper. It was fabulous, not too thick. It was like a soup should be. It was very filling and had a great taste. If you are making it for more than one person, make sure to double the recipe. I quadrupled it so we could have it at another meal in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shoeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Very quick and tasty. The kids loved this soup. I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Wow, this soup was SO easy to make! I think it took exactly five minutes to make, and it's absolutely delicious! Better than restaurant quality, indeed!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States