Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This soup was fantastic! I added in a lot more scallions because I love them... the only suggestion I'd say is to avoid the soy sauce or use a light broth, because it came out very salty and I had to add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Made this vegetarian with 'No chicken broth'. Added chopped green onions,and some frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Excellent. Thank you! Just be sure to make enough for all your guests. We doubled it for two of us and just wished we had more.... Very good, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJ2b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
this turned out wonderful - I quadrupled the recipe and it was just delicious. It definatley needs the soy sauce and the sesame oil for authentic flavor. I also made homemade crispy noodles by cutting wanton wrappers into thirds and frying them in canola oil for a few seconds each. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prithy3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I loved this! I made a serving of 6, and I made a few alterations. I did not have broth, so I used 1 bouillon per cup of water. I also added a bit more sesame oil to taste. I also used 7 eggs instead of 6. I loved the extra egg! This will definitely be a favorite in my recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was definitely too salty in its original format, and I even used low sodium soysauce, and only 3/4 of a teaspoon at that. I had to add 3/4 of a cup of water to it to sort it out. Adding chopped green onions is also an absolute requirement if you want to have the authentic Chinese taste. With my additions I would give it 4 stars, as it was better than most egg drop soup recipes, but definitely needs some tweaking. (FYI, sometimes I add a dash of cayenne pepper for an extra kick, but it's not necessary.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AliDot
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Awesome! VERY easy to make and JUST like you get at the restaurant! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Loved it. I needed something soothing and easy to make in my flu-ridden state. I schlumped into the kitchen and performed step one in a microwave, with a pyrex measuring cup. I then broke the egg right into my boiled mixture and stirred. So easy. For diabetics and Atkins devotees, this recipe is perfect without the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was just a *bit* bland, but still very good and soothing, just like egg drop soup should be! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Really easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States