Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality!) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I've made this twice now and loved it each time! It's so quick, easy and adjustable to your personal preferences and the ingredients you have on hand. The first time I made it I didn't have sesame oil, chives, or white pepper on hand. According to other reviews, I didn't add any salt. I subbed in some black pepper (not the full amount), and threw in some onion powder. It turned out really well but could have used a little extra salt (my bad). The second time I made it, I tripled it for my hubby and brother, both of whom raved. Still no chives or white pepper, but this time I did have sesame oil and it added a whole new dimension of flavor which I thought improved it. I put in the full amount of pepper (black), and it was definitely too much. I also put in 1/2 tsp of salt and that ratio seemed to work well. I threw in some more onion powder to add some extra flavor. Can't wait to try it this summer when my chives are ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Simple, easy, and very tasty. I am very picky when it comes to my egg drop soup and this soup was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was delicious! Doubled the recipe and my bf and I had a delightful lunch! Made it with a mustard sardine gourmet sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
I have made several different egg drop soup recipes and this was the best! I didn't have any of the sesame oil and it turned out great. The only thing is I would double the recipe but only use one egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This soup is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Positively yummy. So easy to make with such a delicious result. Had it for lunch with rice crackers. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisol
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Here it is! And it came out Delicious! Very fast and easy! I didn't ad the yellow food coloring though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
It tasted really good until I added white pepper. It really just ruined the soup. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My son said this tasted nothing like egg drop soup. My daughter said it tasted like chicken broth with a hint of egg and she was right as I tasted it. It was gross....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Based on the reviews, I adjusted the recipe just a tad. I cut the soy sauce and sesame oil to 1/4 t, used fresh black pepper and substituted green onions for the chives. Oh, 1/2 t of cornstarch and 1 t of water. Thank you for posting this recipe....perfect for this blustery, chilled to the bone day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States