Egg Custard Pie IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I followed the recipe except I used 3 eggs. The liquid wasn't enough to fill the pie crust to the top so I mixed up half the recipe in a mixer bowl and added it to the mixture in the pie crust. The extra mix filled my 9" pie to the top. I'm baking it now in the oven. Will post a follow up after I taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Thought I was making a dessert pie. It was more like a quiche with no flavor. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This is an excellent 7" custard pie, perhaps my favorite, with just a little less nutmeg. I have made it a few times, and prefer the look and taste of this pie when just a pinch of nutmeg is sprinkled on top and not mixed in. Some cooks have complained that there is not enough filling. The recipe states it is a small 7" pie! To make this recipe as a standard 9" pie, increase the ingredients by 50%, making it 3 eggs, 3 T. sugar, and 1 7/8 cup milk. You might need to increase the last baking time slightly. Follow the instructions to heat the milk because it makes it bake more quickly and evenly. One of the nicest things about this version is the small amount of sugar, which allows the custard flavor to come through well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this pie today. I used 3 eggs and it made a very, very thin pie. Also it was not a sweet tasting custard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe was pretty good. I like the fact that it only calls for 2T of sugar, but i did modify it a little. I used a 9 inch pie crust, used 3 eggs instead of 2 and used soy milk instead of milk and it turned out nicely. However, I'd probably omit the nutmeg next time as i thought it was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Excellent custard pie. I've made three batches since I found the recipe three weeks ago. This is the best recipe that I tried for Egg Custard Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe turned out great! The eater wanted something sweeter, so I doubled the sugar and used honey instead. Worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
It's a good, simple recipe! I make my own pie crust, and it pairs up nicely. I also use six egg yolks (left over from another recipe) instead of two eggs. Makes for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I used graham cracker crumb crust - BAD IDEA. Half of it absorbed into the crumbs, the rest formed an omlette-like layer on top. Woops. I'm dealing with a husband that doesn't like pastry crust, so maybe what I need to do is make the custard pudding seperately, and dump it into a graham-cracker crumb crust before serving. I'll give that a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States