Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Yummy! I changed the nutmeg to cinnamon coz I don't have any nutmeg, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is and it's so good! It is sweet, so if you're not into sweet dessert, maybe reduce the amount of sugar by 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Farah Susantin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I thought this was going to be good, but it wasn't. I am a big fan of custard and this is not custard!! It tasted so awful I tried only one slice. I will NOT make this again ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband was constantly asking me to make him a custard pie and this recipe looked simple so I tried it and I'm glad I did. I used the full amount of spices since my family loves them but I did double the recipe because it was too thin for a deep dish pie. Other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love it thanks for sharing it with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabatha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great Taste! My pie ended up like a couple other ratings here, too buttery a bit too sweet and a bit to much nutmeg. I had to bake it longer than was stated in the recipie. I think next time I will delete some of the sugar, nutmeg and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
It was delicious and easy to make except for a few minor issues... 1. TOO sweet. Next time I would use just 2/3-1/2 cup of sugar instead of the full 1 cup. 2. TOO LITTLE egg custard. The pie turned out to be really thing. Next time, I would double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
My husband loves this pie and it's simple too! I doubled the recipe and made custard cups out of the left over filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was a first for me. I would never eat egg custard because I was assumed it had a LOT of eggs in it. I made this recipe for a very dear friend who is 88 years old. She said it was better than Piccadillys!!! My 10 year old said it was her favorite pie now! She is my picky eater. And I loved it, especially warm. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Demimi
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I wanted to make a custard to put fruit on top of, and this recipe was perfect. I omitted the nutmeg completely and added some vanilla extract and yellow food coloring and it was beautiful and light and delicious. It wasn't too sweet at all. I just put some blueberries, strawberries, and mango on top and voila! Quick warning: When mixing the flour with the other ingredients, don't just dump it in there. Mix all the other ingredients in first, and then slowly mix it or sift it in. I just threw them all in a bowl and ended up having to strain the mixture before I combined it with the eggs. Then I put the combined filling through a strainer again. It ensures a smoothly textured pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
creamy and light - a little too much nutmeg for my taste though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States