Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Awesome. Used half the amount of butter & it came together just fine - like to top with frozen sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This tasted just like the Egg Pie my Mom used to make for us. I put it in the perfect cream cheese pie crust also from this site. My only complaint is that it is a little too thin, however that could very easily have been my fault. The only change I made was to omit the salt and nutmeg, only because we don't like it. I will try it in a smaller pie pan next time, but there will definately be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLYNN78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I used this to make an apple-custard pie. I made my regular apple pie recipe and poured the custard over the apples. It turned out well (i used 2% milk and it was not quite set, i think it would have been ok with whole milk), but the custard is very sweet- that could be because of the sugar all over the apples).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This turned out cake-like instead of a moist custard. Not sure what I did wrong - but I didn't serve it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was the first time I've ever made any kind of custard & it was so good. Very easy & tasty. I doubled the filling, added some cinnamon, & keep the sugar at a cup. I will be keeping this recipe handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This pie was really good. I did not bake my crust before filling as called for in recipe but it turned out really good. The crust was very flaky. My husband is very picky and he said it was good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ellenwood, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Yummy! I changed the nutmeg to cinnamon coz I don't have any nutmeg, but I followed the rest of the recipe as is and it's so good! It is sweet, so if you're not into sweet dessert, maybe reduce the amount of sugar by 1/2 a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I thought this was going to be good, but it wasn't. I am a big fan of custard and this is not custard!! It tasted so awful I tried only one slice. I will NOT make this again ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My husband was constantly asking me to make him a custard pie and this recipe looked simple so I tried it and I'm glad I did. I used the full amount of spices since my family loves them but I did double the recipe because it was too thin for a deep dish pie. Other than that it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Love it thanks for sharing it with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabatha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States