Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I substituted the butter and milk for non-dairy versions for that would have impacted the result. But I am pleased to report that it worked just fine and tasted great too. This is a really handy recipe for making quick, last minute desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is one of the best custard pie recipes I have made. I had a deep dish pie crust so I changed the serving size to 12. I used 4 eggs and a little less than a cup of sugar - next time I will use between 3/4 and a cup as it was still a little too sweet. I used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg in the pie and then sprinkled some on top. Very tasty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
When I made this I left out the nutmeg and it turned out perfect! I also cut down on the vanilla the second time around, because the first time I made it the liquid rose to the top as it was baking and it looked very greasy. Other than that, it was by far the best and easiest custard recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
way too sweet.. heavy side for a custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I made this for my friend who is 65. He said it was better than his Mama's! High praise from a native Texan. The only change I made was to use Tapioca flour (purchased from King Arthur) in place of the all-purpose flour. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this recipe and it was outrageous!! Everyone loved it. The texture was perfect. That extra flour really works. This will be a family favorite for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used only a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and played around with the other ingredients. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blhall2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I have always liked egg custard pie. i made this one, and this was the best yet... we loved this recipe, and its so easy.....thanks for sharing it.... T Sanders from lower Alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This wasn't too bad. I give it a 4 star because of potential. I read some reviews and followed some suggestions, used only 3/4 cup sugar, and only 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I'm glad I cut the sugar down, it was the right amount. I thnk that the 1/4 tsp nutmeg still was a bit much, the nutmeg stands out too much. I will probably make this again, but either cut out the nutmeg, which I think would even be good..or just just barely a pinch so that it would be only a small hint of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My Great grandmother, Grandmother and Mother have all made this pie for holidays and it is still a family favorite. My mom has to make one for each kid in our family so we can take the leftovers home. This recipe is exactly how she makes it!! It is and will probably be my ALL TIME FAVORITE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States