Egg Custard Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a wonderful pie. My children helped make it. They enjoyed it even more knowing it was something they created . thanks for sharing your family recipe Pat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstressboss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
My very first custard pie! Was very easy to make too! Everyone loved it. However one person would like it to be thicker. Will make again though! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time i did okay but my husband liked it but i will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I used soy milk for a dairy free version and only 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I'd never made a custard pie before, but it was my favorite before going dairy free. This came out great! The first time I made it I used coconut sugar and it was yummy warm out of the oven. However, the flavor of the coconut sugar overpowered the pie after it was chilled and I don't think I would make it again. The pie also had the color of butterscotch (to be expected) and would only be something I'd serve at home anyway. Using regular white sugar, this was superb!! I used the full cup of sugar and will probably experiment with 3/4 cup next time. It's a matter of taste and prefer mine to have more of an egg flavor. The sweetness of the pie becomes more pronounced as it chills, so gauge your sugar according to how you plan to serve it. Super quick and ridiculously easy to make! LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Custard pie is what my husband always requests, so I finally attempted one. This was a winner and soooooo easy to make. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Used store bought crust. Very easy to make. Sprinkled nutmeg on top as well. Held together well when cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEREZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
love it my son found it on here year b4 last now i make it 4 him every thanksgiving an christmas its easy an simple 2 make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I substituted the butter and milk for non-dairy versions for that would have impacted the result. But I am pleased to report that it worked just fine and tasted great too. This is a really handy recipe for making quick, last minute desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is one of the best custard pie recipes I have made. I had a deep dish pie crust so I changed the serving size to 12. I used 4 eggs and a little less than a cup of sugar - next time I will use between 3/4 and a cup as it was still a little too sweet. I used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg in the pie and then sprinkled some on top. Very tasty pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
When I made this I left out the nutmeg and it turned out perfect! I also cut down on the vanilla the second time around, because the first time I made it the liquid rose to the top as it was baking and it looked very greasy. Other than that, it was by far the best and easiest custard recipe I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States