Egg Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Never had an egg cream. Tried this one and I love it. I used store brand club soda and chocolate sauce. Made a coffee version using Autocrat coffee syrup which was also great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Good recipe and true to its simple New York roots. Best to use seltzer from a siphon and Fox's u-bet chocolate syrup. The proportions in this recipe are good. The milk and the seltzer should be very cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I loved it. I will try adding mint next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
First, you have to use Fox's U-Bet Chocolate Syrup. Start by pouring a little less than 2 oz. of whole milk(has to be whole milk) into a soda glass. Then add seltzer to fill the glass 1/3 of the way. Stir the milk and seltzer. Then add more seltzer until it reaches the very top of the glass. Then pour 2 oz. of chocolate syrup down the side of the glass. Only stir the bottom of the glass where the chocolate is sitting. Stir until a foamy head appears and the drink has turned brown. And it tastes nothing like a fizzy chocolate milk. I hate chocolate milk but love egg creams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
i didn't really enjoy this much. i guess u really need to grow up drinking this to appriciate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Chocolate Egg Creams were made exclusively with Fox's U-Bet chocolate syrup. Fox's has a flavor which is markedly different from any other brand, and is still being created in Brooklyn, NY. Once you've tried it, you won't go back, I promise! Coffee, and Vanilla Egg Creams were also available at the soda fountains. The good old days! This recipe uses far too much milk and not nearly enough seltzer in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
So refreshing! I hope to see an egg cream revivial soon. I like this even better when I substitude seltzer with coke. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Fizzy chocolate milk. If you don't like chocolate milk and if you don't like fizz then this isn't for you. If you do then you can appreciate this taste of NY. The fizz lightens the thickness of the milk if your wondering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
As a boy in NY, I grew up on these. In my neighborhood, they used ice-cold milk, and whipped it with the syrup in a blender before adding it to the seltzer water. My favorite was the Vanilla Egg Cream (egg creams were not necessarily Chocolate). Today, I make them with the Torani Vanilla (-not- French Vanilla) syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Just like the ones my grandmothers made for me growing up in NY. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States