Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Love this recipe! I use it as a base for my egg casseroles. I double the cheese, add in onion (when my husband isn't watching or helping), spinach carrots and add a habenro. Also I mix the meat and bread together, but blend everything else in my Ninja. After I combine everything in my casserole dish I mix it and add my second half of cheese. Today I also added chia seeds, let's see if anyone will notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathanassov
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
I loved this recipe. I added chopped bacon as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Tastes great, but the recipe needs tweaked! It's not going to be ready in 30 minutes. If you've made other egg casseroles, you know this already. I think the 1 or 2 star reviews are simply because the recipe directions are not clear for folks who haven't made this type of dish previously. The recipe needs to state that the sausage needs to be cooked and drained (although most will assume this), and the prep time to include the cooking of the sausage is another 10 minutes or so. I baked uncovered for 15 minutes, then uncovered for approximately 30 more minutes? Don't remember exactly, but there are zillion recipes like this out there, and I'd just as soon refer to one that has the correct baking time on the recipe so I don't have to babysit my oven checking on it more often that I need to. That being said - it turned out great! The spices in the country style sausage I used balanced the bread, cheese, and egg mixture nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was a good base recipe, especially if you forgot to make ahead the night beforehand. I did have to increase temp to 375 and bake 40min not 20-30. I would add salt, pepper and onion. I think bacon and mushrooms would also be a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this for my hubby & myself one rainy Saturday morning and basically cut the recipe in half. I used 6 eggs, 3 pieces of bread, ham instead of sausage because we had it left over from New Year, through in a little green pepper, fresh mushroom, and green onion. OMG..... it was awesome. Fast, delicious, and easy.My kind of breakfast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I cut this recipe in half, using 4 eggs and egg beaters to replace the other two eggs. I also used a couple sheets of matzoh because I didn't have any bread. Only used about 5 oz. of cheese, not 8, and it was plenty cheesy! Consistency before baking was like thick soup when all mixed together. I used a 3 inch deep round casserole and baked 15 minutes covered and 20 minutes uncovered. A pick inserted into the center will come clean (except for a little melted cheese). Hope this helps!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This inexpensive recipe is great to use up leftovers on New Years Day. I used the last of the leftover Christmas ham. I added the broken chips at the bottom of the chip bag. I added the left over fondue cheese from New Years Eve. I added excess left over grated cheese not used for pizza. I mixed in left over mashed yams. I added onion and would have added garlic, too. I did not add the bread but served some fresh bread on the side. I added raisins. I used a dozen eggs. My family liked it and I know it's good when even our cat wants some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Made this year for Christmas breakfast using bacon, one less slice of bread than called for in the recipe and I added 3 green onions. It was DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
To the one that says it took an hour did you brown your sausage first drain excess fat and set aside to cool?? I make this all the time it takes 15 mins covered and 15 uncovered and will turn out perfect. If you want to add things I do however recommend 1 extra egg for each extra ingredient. Thank you for making my breakfasts a hit. Wonderful recipe. Oh yes and if you add 2 eggs for extra ingredients I recommend another piece of bread Enjoy this I know we do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Bundick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I make this recipe for a large family crowd every year for Thanksgiving and it is always a huge hit! I use frozen hash browns that i brown and season in place if the bread and I season the eggs and leave the recipe as is! Because I have two very small children i also make it the night before and pop it in the oven in the morning. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States