Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
The casserole was great! I used 1.5 lbs of bacon instead of the sausage, added three green onions, mixed it all the night before and refrigereated overnight. I baked it at 375 for 40 minutes, the first 15 covered. I took it to a church breakfast, and they loved it! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
516 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
I increased the eggs to 16, added 8 slices of day old bread and tossed the sausage/bread mix lightly with the egg mix. I also added 5 T milk, 1 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp pepper to the eggs. I used 2 c sharp cheddar in the egg mix, and topped it with another c of shredded cheddar/monterey jack blend. I used pam non stick cooking spray to coat the pan, but think a light coat of crisco shortening would have been better as some of it stuck a little. I baked it for 25-30 minutes instead of the 15 indicated. Will feed 9. My gang loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
My family REALLY liked this. We substituted bacon for the sausage (just because of preference) and it was SO good! As we discussed it though, next time we'll probably add a few extra eggs and maybe toss the mix around a bit just so there aren't so many crusty bits of bread otherwise this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAIR_LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
We have updated this recipe to include cooking the sausage before it goes into the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
This meal was TERRIBLE!! It did not take only 20 minutes to cook, more like an hour. I don't know which part was supposed to be "Quick and Easy", but it wasn't. It took longer than 10 minutes to prepare and the eggs were runny. It was also way TOO RICH and greasy. I would definitely not recommend this recipe to anyone, especially if you have high cholesterol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
The trick with this recipe is to use COOKED meat. Brown and drain the sausage before adding to the other ingredients. It does take more like 40 minutes to bake and was a little too cheesy for my taste...Of course my kids LOVED all that cheese. We have used a similar recipe to this using bacon and it was even better. Just substitute browned crumbled bacon for the sausage and proceed as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe and a favorite with my family. My mom has made this for breakfast when we had company and for other special occasions. The only problem we had was the cook time. It spent at least 15-20 extra minutes in the oven to allow the eggs to firm up. Otherwise it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
The Cook time and Bake time are not correct on this. But once you bake it for long enough it is a really good recipe. You need to brown your sausage or bacon and that takes more than 10 min. to prep it all, so just be prepareed to allow some time. I like to make it at night (prep) and put in fridge overnight so it all soaks in the bread. then take out and back in the morning. I covered with foil for 20 min. then uncovered for 20 min. and that seems to bake perfectly. I used bacon instead and only 12oz. it was very flavorful with that much bacon. also about 1/2 less cheese. Will make again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Great for breakfast burritos! My husnabd's squadron loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
I made this for lunch and we all loved it. It was easy to make and even my picky 22 month old son ate it. I used bacon instead of sausage and it was delicious. I have added this to our family favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States